Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

A Bad Monday

2 Comments

Let me tell you guys about my awful Monday.  Seeing as it was only yesterday, I unfortunately have a great recollection of what events occurred.

8:15am: My alarm goes off this time every day.  I wake up and start my Monday like I would any other day.  However, knowing that it was a holiday, I made sure to put on comfortable shoes and clothes.  I was preparing for the abnormal amount of people I was expecting to walk through the doors at work.

10:45am: I get to work and start my normal opening routine.

11:30am: Time to turn on the projectors in the scary projection booth upstairs.  I noticed that one of the projectors was completely off and another had to go through a hard restart.  Great…more time in my least favorite place.

11:45am: Time to open the doors!  Oh and here is the crowd of people I was expecting.  Good thing we have nearly zero money in the safe!

1:30pm:  It finally starts to slow down as all the movies are starting.  The staff and myself start to clean up and restock for the next round.

2:10pm: I get one of the worst text messages ever.  It was from my bank asking if I tried to make a withdrawal…in the amount of $1594.86.  I don’t have nearly this much in my account, but panic set in nearly immediately.  I checked my account on my phone and sure enough my checking balance was $0.00.  All I wanted to do was cry or punch something.

2:12pm: I immediately call the bank after receiving the alert to warn them that I did not, in fact, try to withdraw $482.45 at 2:00pm, $1594.86 at 2:05pm, and $474.74 at 2:08pm from Las Vegas, Nevada at a credit one online bank.  They shut down the card immediately and file a claim.  After asking them a million questions, I learned that the charges need to actually go through before the claim does.  Then after that, I should hopefully get my funds reimbursed.

2:15pm: I get off the phone with them, only slightly relieved at the simple fact that whoever is trying to take money from me no longer can.  I also realize that I will not have access to my accounts for 5-7 business days, I have $0.00 in my account, and to top it all off I have a grand total of $7.00 in my wallet.

Has anyone ever experienced this awful event?  If they have, I would love to know what happened so I know what to expect.  I am still slightly freaking out over everything.  Ugh this is the worst.

Author: AmandaMarie

I am a 2011 graduate of Drew University with a Bachelor's Degree in Art History with a minor in Art. I have taken wide-range of art courses, which include 2D design, 3D design, Drawing, Ceramic Sculpture, Photography (both black and white and digital), Computer Graphics, and printmaking (intaglio). I have had prior black and white photography experience from three years of classes in high school as well. I hope that this blog will be a way for me to showcase my work to various people and future clients.

2 thoughts on “A Bad Monday

  1. That happened to me in Peru. It sucked, but the bank refunded the money and I got a new card and stuff. It just took a couple weeks.

  2. Aw Amanda, sorry! That stinks. The bank will fix it and it will all work out.

Be Honest!

