Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Traveling the World

2 Comments

I was inspired to write this post after seeing this article online a last week.

http://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2014/01/10/travel/2014-places-to-go.html?smid=fb-nytimes&WT.z_sma=TR_PPTG_20140110&bicmp=AD&bicmlukp=WT.mc_id&bicmst=1388552400000&bicmet=1420088400000&_r=2

While the article offers places to visit in the year 2014, that’s obviously not realistic for me. I decided to make a list of places I want to actually want to go to within the next 10 years. I really think it’s important to travel and see the world, and I think that your twenties and thirties are the perfect time to do that. Some of the places are cliché and I really don’t care how much of a “tourist” I’ll be. I’ve seen amazing pictures and shows and heard stories of all these places, and I don’t want someone else to alter how I imagine them if they have their own negative reviews. I want to see them for myself and experience them for what they are.

1. Italy

My mom is 100 percent Italian, and many of her relatives came from Italy to the United States in the early 20th century. Aside from it being an incredibly beautiful country, I want to see where my relatives are from. I want to see the whole country. The major cities, the countryside, the coast…all of it.

2. Ireland

I’m also part Irish, and I’ve always thought Ireland is one of the prettiest countries I’ve ever seen pictures of. Friends of mine from riding went on a vacation there and specifically visited the countryside to spend a week riding and I’ve been jealous ever since.

3. Paris

Since I was little, I’ve been obsessed with Paris. It looks like one of the most fascinating places in the world to me. I was so interested in it that I chose to take French in middle school and attempted to learn the language (I failed miserably and should have just given up in high school). Of course, Paris is popular in film and television, so the idea I have of it is the romanticized version from on screen and until I see it for myself, that’s what it will be.

4. London

My dad used to travel to London pretty much monthly for a good portion of my childhood, and every time he would come home, he would bring my sister and I little trinkets and gifts from his trips. I thought the world basically consisted of home and London. Naturally, I created an vision of what London was like and decided that I wanted to go with my dad on one of his trips. Of course, now that I’m older, I still want to go, but only because it’s the home of the Harrys (Prince and Potter). Just kidding…kind of. Watch out London. I will be THAT tourist.

5. African safari

Call me crazy, but I want to go to Africa. I never really thought about it until my sister briefly expressed an interest in caring for exotic animals. She wanted to learn about it by going on a safari. Now, I know this is probably the least attainable goal as far as these trips go, but how amazing would it be if it actually worked out? I’ve heard it costs several thousand dollars, not to mention it is risky going to Africa, but I think it would be a once in a lifetime, absolutely incredible experience.

6. Ballpark tour of America

So you know I’m a diehard Yankee fan. But aside from that, I really do enjoy the game of baseball and have learned quite a bit about the game and it’s teams and players. Following the Yankees as much as I do, I’ve observed  the characteristics of each ballpark around the country and see the individual beauty each one has. I think it would be awesome to travel across the country for a season seeing a game at every park, regardless of what teams are playing. What better way to get to see the country and enjoy America’s pastime?

7. Nashville

I love country music, so this is the perfect place for me to visit. It would be ideal to see this place during a country music awards show, but hey, if that can’t happen, so be it. I’ll still visit anyway.

8. New Orleans

I don’t know much about this town, but it sure seems funky. I think I need to experience places that are the complete opposite of where I’m from. All I know is the hustle and bustle attitude of the Northeast, and don’t get me wrong, I was born and raised Jersey-style, but the rest of the country is so foreign to me. I think New Orleans might be a mix of the laid-back southern style with a bit of chaos that I recognize. Plus, Pat O’Briens.

9.Vancouver

This place looked absolutely spectacular during the Olympics in 2010. I’ve pretty much had my eye on in since then because I was so drawn to its beauty. I don’t really know what’s there, and I am probably not coordinated enough to try any winter sports there, or anywhere for that matter, but I’d be willing to try. Canada looks like a pretty chill place, and I can dig that.

10. Bermuda

I’m pretty much drawn to any country in the Caribbean, so just say the word and I’m there. The only reason I can see this as working out is because my cousin just married a Bermudian and is moving there. She suggested that we come visit when they are all settled in and I am so down for that.  What better way to spend time in a place like that without (potentially) spending a ton of money? Get me to da beach!

I have a list a mile long, but that’s just a basic idea of some places I want to go. Hopefully I’ll be able to make visiting some of these places a reality within the next ten years. Otherwise, I’ve got a lifetime ahead of me to do that!

2 thoughts on “Traveling the World

  1. I’ll come with you! When are we going?

Be Honest!

