Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

A Sudsy Adventure

4 Comments

Happy (?Eh…) Monday, everyone! My brain and body are fairly fried and really foggy thanks to my busy schedule with 9 to 5 and All Shook Up. I’m having some trouble thinking and writing coherently today, but I still have enough energy to quickly share my latest life news.

I’ve taken up another new hobby! As we already know, I get pretty gung-ho about taking up new hobbies. I go all or nothing into a new project. Go big or go home. Commit or quit. Yadda yadda yadda. What’s my latest hobby aspiration?

Soaps. Soap making. Smelling lots of amazing fragrance and essential oils.

A friend and I came up with and idea for a new business venture, which also involves this hobby. I can’t reveal all of the details or exactly what we’re doing just yet, but it involves making soaps and being very creative.

So we’ve been researching Cold Process (CP) soap making for a while now, and we finally purchased the necessary ingredients to get started. Then I went even bigger and decided to make my own soap molds.

My dad and I went down to the garage and, using pictures of molds and dimensions of store bought molds, made our own. We made 2, actually. They are heavy duty. Maybe more complex than they need to be. We also made a soap cutter, which is basically like cheese wire, but it will ensure that each bar of soap is exactly the same size.

Best of all, it was all made with scrap wood and things we had around the garage. We had to go buy two more hinges and the wire, but really they were practically made for free. I love free things!

Also, for anyone out there interested in soaping, I got the idea for the soap cutter from Basic Soap Making: All the Skills and Tools You Need to Get Started by Elizabeth Letcavage and Patsy Buck. There are instructions for making molds and the cutter in the book, but I somehow overlooked the entire chapter with the how-to, so I just math-ed everything together with my dad. We’re pretty good at fabricating items just using the information in our brains, but if you want to make your own, the instructions in the book are a great start. Or you can check out my crafting board on Pinterest, where I pinned a few wooden mold tutorials. You can also ask me more about my molds, and when my mind is fully functioning, I’ll answer.

I can’t brain anymore because chronic fatigue, so here are some pictures of the things I’ve been talking about. I forgot to get a good shot of the whole, finished mold but… yeah. Big Al out.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Author: Allyssa Ellen

A costumer, a makeup artist, an educator, and a librarian, all rolled up into one convenient, fun-sized package.

4 thoughts on “A Sudsy Adventure

  1. I’m a cold process soaper myself, although it’s been some time since I’ve made any. Great looking mold, can’t wait to see your finished product!

    • Oh I didn’t know you were a soaper! That’s so good to know! I’ll show off the finished product when it’s all set in a few weeks. I can’t wait to share!

  2. I’m impressed with your mathing. I want good smelling soaps!

Be Honest!

