Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Pandora Perfection

6 Comments

My friends, I have done it. I have created what I believe to be the perfect station on Pandora. Well, perfect for me, anyway. So if you like the same type of music as I do, you probably will enjoy this station as well.

So, the question is, what kind of music do I like? Well, like any other person, I have gone through many phases of musical appreciation. As a kid of the 90s, various boy bands, the Spice Girls, the Barenaked Ladies, and Matchbox 20 were my jams. As I grew up, I got sucked into the angsty teenage vortex of Brand New, Taking Back Sunday, Fall Out Boy, The Spill Canvas, and other bands of that nature. That faded toward late high school and college into more of an eclectic appreciation for Ben Folds, The Decemberists, Jason Mraz, Jack Johnson, The Script, and a ton of others.

What I’m trying to say is that I like a lot of different kinds of music. The one thing that has become clear to me in the past 4 or 5 years is that, despite my unironic love for all things Ke$ha, the music I listen to most frequently is fairly mellow and low-key. I guess it would fall into the indie/folk/alternative pop categories, but I don’t actually know enough (or anything) about music to put my preferences into a genre.

Ke$ha is my spirit animal.

Ke$ha is my spirit animal.

So. Back to this Pandora station. I was looking to create a station that included the music I listen to the most frequently and that would allow me to discover new musicians of the same general vibe. I wanted a station I could listen to while I work and write; something mellow that wouldn’t distract me, but was also interesting and catchy.

I started with Of Monsters and Men, since I’ve been listening to their album “My Head is an Animal” quite a lot recently. I very quickly changed the title of the station to “My Music” (catchy, eh?) as I added more and more artists. As Pandora did its magic and played new songs based on my preferences, I liked songs and added artists to create what has become my favorite station ever (yes, even better than my Backstreet Boys station).

Here is the list of some of the artists that this station is based on:

  • Of Monsters & Men
  • Mumford & Sons
  • The Lumineers
  • Imagine Dragons
  • Passenger
  • OneRepublic
  • Jason Mraz
  • Ben Harper
  • Sara Bareilles
  • Joshua Radin
  • Phillip Phillips
  • Florence + The Machine
  • Passion Pit
  • Feist
  • Bon Iver
  • A Fine Frenzy
  • Bastille

And here is a list of some of the musicians that, through this station, I’ve discovered I also really enjoy (at least one of their songs, anyway). Some of them I’ve heard of, but just didn’t know a lot of their music, while others are totally new to me:

  • Peter Bjorn and John
  • Birdy
  • Iron & Wine
  • Tyrone Wells
  • Walk the Moon
  • Two Door Cinema Club
  • Benjamin Francis Leftwich
  • Blind Pilot

Does anyone have any ideas of music that might make this station even better? Or do you totally hate every musician I put on here and think I’m a big dummy for liking this music? What musicians would be on your perfect station?

Author: Lori

Lori is a writer living and working in New Jersey. Her greatest literary influences are Dr. Seuss, JK Rowling, and Harriet the Spy.

6 thoughts on “Pandora Perfection

  1. These are some of my favorites as well, Kesha included. Have you ever listened to jake bugg? Broken and lightening bolt are two of my favorite songs but his whole first album is really good!

    • I actually have a couple of his songs on my iPod, but I haven’t actually listened to them very much. I’ll have to check him out!

  2. The Civil Wars! I am absolutely in love with them

  3. I love Pandora too and listen to it every day! 🙂

  4. Pingback: A Non-Coffee Drinker’s Morning While Hopped Up on Coffee: A Hero’s Journey | Honesty Time

Be Honest!

