Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Liebster Award and Fibro Update

Leave a comment

First off, a super thanks to my pal Emily at A Crazy Random Happenstance for this Liebster Award for all of us bros at Honesty Time. The award is for deserving bloggers who have under 200 followers.

The the person who nominated you comes up with 10 questions that you have to answer. And so I answered them. Then, I have to write up my own 10 questions for bloggers of my choosing to answer. So. That’s all here and I’ll get to that in a quick jiffy.

Secondly, I just wanted to say that I finally went to my rheumatologist after skipping out for almost 2 years. There have been some updates, mostly on the treatment front.

I’d like to ask all my fellow fibro-ers and chronic fatigue friends to let me know, whether you have a full length post about it, a resource, or just some quick words to share, about your treatments and/or meds that you take. I’m new to treatments and my doctor and I are still talking about which route to go, so I’d like to hear some experiences from others.

I do know that I am starting physical therapy  in the next week or so, so for those who are curious about hearing what PT can do for back pain, fibro pain, and maybe even my exhaustion levels, check back often because I will post updates.

Third, I don’t have any pictures to jazz up this post, so here’s a picture of Licorice photo bombing me.

There's a video that goes with this that's actually kind of funny. A true photobomb/sneak attack

There’s a video that goes with this that’s actually kind of funny. A true photobomb/sneak attack

OK! On to the fun stuff – Liebster Award!

Emily asked me 10 questions, and here are my answers. Also, the other Honesty Time bros can totally answer these too if they want.

1. What is your favorite novel of all time? Big Fish. Check here and here for more on my favorite novels and Big Fish.

2. What is the first movie you cried watching? The Fox and the Hound, most likely. Seriously. I never wanted to watch it when I was little because it upset me, a lot. Nowadays, just about everything makes me cry. Sentimental music? Cue the tears. It doesn’t even need to be sad – I’ll cry.

3. What is your favorite life lesson you learned from a television show? You bettah werk. – RuPaul. Also, a hug can fix a lot of things – Full House. Also, anything can be made into an ice cream flavor, but should it? – Iron Chef America, Next Iron Chef, and Chopped.

4. What movie can you quote in its entirety? I actually don’t think I’ve mastered any movie in its entirety.  I’m pretty close with Princess Bride and I used to know IT mostly forwards and backwards. Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs and Despicable Me are getting close. Yes, yes I am a 5 year old.

5. Which character from literature or film is your spirit animal? Neville Longbottom. Just kidding. Luna Lovegood. Do you see where I’m going? Like, maybe if Luna Lovegood and Gregory Maguire’s Elphaba were one person, that would be my true spirit animal. Awkward, quirky, on the outskirts of acceptable normalcy, but smart, quick, and useful. Spunky. No, but it’s probably Neville.

6. What is your Favorite song to blast in your room when no one is home and you’re having a dance party by yourself? SOMEHOW I’LL…MAKE A MAN… OUT OF YOUUUUUUUUUU. Be a man! I do love Mulan. But in all fairness, I enjoy blasting that song everywhere that I go, whether I’m alone or not.

7. What is one name you will absolutely, under no circumstances, name your potential future child. Skylar. In every class I have, there’s a Skylar. And I can always tell which one she is without having to ask. Always. No Skylars for me.

8. If you could fly anywhere in the world, where would it be? This is hard. I have so many places that I want to visit. I really want to go to Australia, but my crippling fear of all things 8 legged and creepy crawly won’t allow me to go there. Maybe I’ll just fly there and then won’t stay too long. You know, maybe. I still really want to go to Sicily, too, of course.

9. What utterly absurd animal would you want to tame and have as your pet? Any kind of big cat. That’s not really so absurd. I’ll have to settle for owning a Savannah cat, I suppose. I’d also accept a quokka and a sloth. Nothing too absurd, you see.

10. Who is your favorite historical figure? I was going to say Aaron Burr because whatever to what he’s actually done (er?) for our country, but he was a sophomore history class favorite and like the old timey version of the Energizer Bunny. That has to be inspiring at some point, right? Maybe not to Alexander Hamilton and the court that tried him for treason, but, you know. He tried. But then I started thinking about this question as more of a “Who would I like to meet?” and I thus decided on Aristotle, Plato, and Socrates. Because I want to show them around, take them to a mall, and get their opinions on how sad our culture is. I’m pretty sure I would break them, and they would become severely depressed, but they would certainly provide excellent insight.

And here are my 10 questions, followed by 10 blogs with under 200 followers (according to WordPress, at least) that you should definitely check out.

  1. How do you really feel about Mondays?
  2. What is your favorite class you have ever taken – either high school or college/graduate level, and why?
  3. Favorite ice cream flavor and why? The why is really important.
  4. What is your favorite Disney movie?
  5. Grab your favorite book and tell me your favorite quote or moment from that book.
  6. Let’s say you’re famous – what would you be famous for doing?
  7. You have to watch one particular episode of a particular show every day for the rest of your life – what show/episode is it?
  8. What is your patronus?
  9. If you went to college, what was your major and why? If you didn’t, what would you major in?
  10. Do you collect anything? What is it and why?

 

Please check out the following blogs. They all have something unique to share with a pretty wide range of topics!:

A Crazy Random Happenstance

Magic in the Margins

A Scholarly Skater

Design Realisation

Baking, Butter, & Happiness

Leslie IRL

Just Another F-Bomb

Fibro in Your FACE

Painlessly Delicious

I got 9. Close enough.

Happy February folks! Stay safe and warm.

Author: Allyssa Ellen

A costumer, a makeup artist, an educator, and a librarian, all rolled up into one convenient, fun-sized package.

Be Honest!

