Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Homemades

2 Comments

Did everyone watch the superbowl?!?! Well if you didn’t, some crazy unexpected plays happened and Denver got blown out with a final score of 43-8.  I know I was routing for Seattle because I believe this is their first, and I really do like Russell Wilson.  Anyway, since it was superbowl weekend, what better way to celebrate than with good friends, a nice big bowl of homemade turkey chili, and a good bottle of beer?  I don’t think I can think of a better way.  Here is the recipe:

Homemade Turkey Chili

1609892_10152612078682119_875397235_n

Ingredients:

Olive Oil

1 package of lean ground turkey (I used Jenny-O)

1 can of black beans

1 can of white kidney beans

1 small can of yellow corn

1 red bell pepper, diced

large TBSPN of minced garlic

Onion (I diced the amount I would like. It is up to you)

1 can of crushed tomatoes (I used Redpack Basil Oregano and Garlic)

1 &1/2 cups of water

1 TSPN of unsweetened cocoa powder

1&1/2 TSPN of chili powder

1/2 TSPN of garlic powder

1/2 TSPN of paprika

1 TBSPN of oregano AND parsley

2 TSPN of reduced sodium soy sauce

Black pepper (I like a lot.)

Directions:

Step 1: Heat olive oil in a large sauce pan over a low/medium heat. 

Step 2: Add ground turkey, cooking until a lightish brown.  Stir to break up the meat while it cooks.

Step 3: Add onion, pepper, and garlic.  Cook until onion starts to turn translucent and peppers are tender.  Don’t forget to stir.  No burning allowed.

Step 4:  Mix in beans, corn, spices, and canned tomatoes.  Add the water and stir to combine.

Step 5: Bring chili to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer for 45 mins to about an hour.

Step 6: Enjoy!!

Pairs well with: Hint of Lime Tostitos, Corn Bread, Pumpernickel and/or Rye bread, and beer of course.  (I had Shocktop…yummy)

Author: AmandaMarie

I am a 2011 graduate of Drew University with a Bachelor's Degree in Art History with a minor in Art. I have taken wide-range of art courses, which include 2D design, 3D design, Drawing, Ceramic Sculpture, Photography (both black and white and digital), Computer Graphics, and printmaking (intaglio). I have had prior black and white photography experience from three years of classes in high school as well. I hope that this blog will be a way for me to showcase my work to various people and future clients.

2 thoughts on “Homemades

  1. Looks great, thanks for the recipe!

Be Honest!

