Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Olympic Soaping

7 Comments

It’s after 9pm, I’m still at rehearsal, and I almost forgot to write a post. That’s what doing 2 shows will do to you! It’s crunch time!

 So here are some pictures of what I’ve been doing lately because that’s all I have for you. As always, click for larger views!

Costuming: 

Soaping:

Take a closer look at the two stacked oval bars in the center of the board here. They’re the exact same soap recipe and fragrances as the bars on the sides, but the oval bars are Cold Process, and the loaf bars went through a serious gel phase in the oven. The difference is crazy! Once they’re fully cured, we’ll have to decide which process or style we like best.

We have three more batches to make this week so that we’re ready for when we need them in the next few weeks. We’re oven curing them all because we just have 3 weeks left. Oops! 

Physical therapy:

My PT has me doing all of these at home except for the trunk rotation. I also do the Double Knee to Chest with a yoga ball and roll it in and out. Image from Harvard Vanguard Medical Associates.

My PT has me doing all of these at home except for the trunk rotation. I also do the Double Knee to Chest with a yoga ball and roll it in and out. Image from Harvard Vanguard Medical Associates.

Hanging with my cats while watching the Olympics:

Who else is watching the Olympics? I’m trying to really understand Curling this year. I always watch it, but I can never really follow the games, even though I think that I understand the basic principle and rules.

Of course, figure skating is my favorite. I used to want to be a figure skater when I was little, but I never got started. I think at my age, and with fibro, perhaps it’s too late. Even though that goes against all of my the beliefs that I have about trying new things. Ooops.

Who else is watching the Olympics? If you could compete in one winter Olympic sport, which would it be?

Author: Allyssa Ellen

A costumer, a makeup artist, an educator, and a librarian, all rolled up into one convenient, fun-sized package.

7 thoughts on “Olympic Soaping

  1. If I could compete in any winter olympic event I think I would want to do an alpine skiing event. Which is funny because I figure skated and snowboarded growing up and rarely skied, maybe if I had actually skied a lot I wouldn’t want to do it now? Maybe it’s just because I’m watching alpine skiing on TV right now an it looks fast and awesome?

  2. Soap looks good! I’m a diehard cold-process soaper. I’ve tried the other methods but always go back to my original process, hope you share your opinions on both!

    (I also don’t wait the full 4 weeks to use mine…I’ve never been very good at waiting 😉 )

    • I love the color and texture of the two CP soaps, but the CP/Oven Process soaps are already almost totally super solid! The CP ones still have a little tackiness to them – is that normal?

      • Sometimes, depends on your oils and your lye ratio.Does your formula have a high olive oil content? If so that can take a while to firm up. You’re essentially waiting for the water to evaporate. Do you use soapcalc.com? They have a great lye calculator, you plug in your ingredients and it tells you how much our and liquid to use.

        • Ah, ok! I used a recipe that was already calculated, but it does have a decent amount of olive oil, so that probably explains that! Thanks! I can’t wait to try the calculator when I have time to be courageous enough to make some recipes.

Be Honest!

