Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Soup

1 Comment

I have another homemade recipe to share with everyone!  Let me start by saying, I made this soup that one really bad snow day.  I remember it being really bad because I actually got a day off of work.  That NEVER happens.  So, as I was sitting in my house doing nothing, I decided what better way to kill time than to make a nice hot pot of soup to enjoy for lunch and dinner on a cold snowy night.

Homemade Tortellini Soup 

securedownload

Ingredients: 

1 TBSPN olive oil

3 carrots (chopped)

1/4 cup of diced onion

1 large tbspn of minced garlic

2 large celery stalks (chopped)

1/2 of zucchini (seeds scooped out and chopped)

1 cup of white kidney beans

1 box of low sodium chicken broth (about 4&1/2 cups)

2 cups of water

1/4 cup of Parmesan cheese

1&1/2 cups of tortellini pasta (I used Barilla spinach and cheese)

2 Basil leaves

1 tsp of oregano and parsley

Salt and black pepper to taste.

(The recipe also called for 1 can of crushed tomatoes.  However I did not have them and it was really bad outside so I omitted them.  I would love to make the soup again and include the can.)

Directions:

Saute carrots, onions, and celery in olive oil until onion starts to become translucent and veggies start to become tender.  Continue stirring as not to burn the vegetables and to make sure they are cooking evenly.  Once they start to become only slightly firm add in garlic and zucchini.

Stir in chicken broth, water, basil, oregano, salt and pepper, and beans.  Simmer for 5-10 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Add tortellini and parmesan cheese.  Simmer for an additional 15-20 minutes (until pasta is cooked).  Stir occasionally.

Author: AmandaMarie

I am a 2011 graduate of Drew University with a Bachelor's Degree in Art History with a minor in Art. I have taken wide-range of art courses, which include 2D design, 3D design, Drawing, Ceramic Sculpture, Photography (both black and white and digital), Computer Graphics, and printmaking (intaglio). I have had prior black and white photography experience from three years of classes in high school as well. I hope that this blog will be a way for me to showcase my work to various people and future clients.

One thought on “Soup

  1. I would like to eat this.

Be Honest!

