Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Podcasts You Should Be Listening To: Revisited

5 Comments

Remember a while back when I yelled at you all to start listening to more podcasts? Well, since I wrote that blog back in September, the list of podcasts I listen to has changed. There are a few I no longer listen to (which I’m not going to call out here), but mostly I’ve just added some new favorites. I decided to update you all on the new podcasts that have caught my fancy (you can trust someone’s judgment when they say hip things like that). You should also listen to all of the ones I previously recommended here.

In alphabetical order (click on the image to go to the show’s site):

Alohomora!

I think I discovered this podcast pretty soon after I wrote my last post. If you are a Harry Potter nerd like me (and, let’s face it, if you read this blog you probably are), then this is the podcast for you. I already explained in my other post that I got started listening to podcasts through MuggleCast. This is another MuggleNet podcast, and arguably one I enjoy even more. The hosts are doing a “global reread” of the books, discussing one chapter in each podcast. MuggleNet staffers Caleb, Michael, Rosie, Laura, Eric, Kat, and Noah rotate their hosting responsibilities, with three of them appearing each week. They are also usually joined by a fan guest host, who have ranged from professors to psychologists to just regular HP fans from around the world. It’s fun, educational, interesting, and funny. They are almost to the end of Goblet of Fire right now, but it’s totally worth catching up on.

The Disney Origins Podcast

I found this podcast when I was looking for something to entertain me on a four hour long drive to Virginia. This did not disappoint. Host Paul J. Hale educates listeners on the stories that our favorite Disney movies are based on – so far he has covered Pocahontas, Frozen, and Sleeping Beauty. He only puts out one podcast a month, but it is worth the wait. You can tell how much effort he puts into the research and production of each episode. This is the perfect podcast for anyone who loves Disney, literature, or history.

Pop Culture Happy Hour

I have no idea how it took me this long to start listening to this podcast. I had heard of it, and I have always loved pop culture. But now that I have started, I can’t stop. This is an NPR podcast, and it’s endlessly interesting and entertaining. Linda Holmes is joined weekly by other people from NPR, most commonly Stephen Thompson, Glen Weldon, and Trey Graham. They discuss everything that’s happening in pop culture that week. It’s probably my favorite podcast of the moment. There’s nothing I love more than intelligent, witty people discussing total nonsense with no cynicism or sarcasm (well, there’s a bit of that, but it’s very loving). I also love Linda Holmes’s blog Monkey See. Read it.

This American Life

Like with PCHH, it was only a matter of time before I started listening to This American Life. I think I was avoiding getting sucked into the NPR rabbit hole, but now I’ve jumped right in. It’s probably only a matter of time before I start listening to more of their podcasts. But for those of you who have been living under a rock, This American Life is a podcast where host Ira Glass interviews people and investigates the “normal” lives of Americans. I studied Sociology in school, so this is right up my alley. In case you haven’t noticed a theme with the other podcasts I’ve mentioned in this post, I’ve started to listen to more intellectual podcasts recently. I like to reference them to make myself seem smarter…(how’s that for honesty time? Bam.)

Totally Laime

Okay, so this one isn’t as intellectual as the other podcasts, but it’s certainly funnier. I used to listen to this a while back, but for whatever reason lost track of it. Well, I am back to being a full-fledged Laime-wad now. Elizabeth Laime and her husband, “Psychic” Andy Rosen, interview comedians and actors from their kitchen. Their tagline is “Asking the most important people the least important questions.” They are silly and fun and don’t take themselves too seriously. Whether they are playing Totally or Laime: Rapid Fire or the Oprah Game (which is rarely successful but always entertaining) or talking about comedy, dogs, or death (often all three), you won’t want to miss this adorable couple. They have two other podcasts called Totally Married and Totally Mommy that I don’t listen to, but I can only imagine are just as fun.

Unpopular Opinion Podcast

This is the second podcast brought to us by Cracked, which we all know I love. Cracked columnist Adam Tod Brown sits down with other comedians and writers to discuss their unpopular opinions about things like movies, music, sports, cities, and much more. Honestly, I often agree with their opinions, so I’m not entirely sure how “unpopular” they are, but it really doesn’t matter. Adam is funny, smart, and just a little bit cranky. It’s pretty short, usually at only about a half hour, so I like to stockpile so I can listen to a couple at a time (I have a long commute). I’m sure as a live show it’s great, but since I’m on the other side of the country, I’m happy to just listen to the podcast.


So, there you have it. My most recent additions to my ever-expanding podcast list. There are so many good ones, I can’t stop adding more. What podcasts do you listen to? Don’t be intimidated if your list isn’t as infinite as mine. It definitely helps that I have plenty of time to listen to them while commuting and working, so I understand if your personal list isn’t quite as expansive. I’m sure I’ll be back in a few months with another list. I should probably start a podcast about podcasts.

Author: Lori

Lori is a writer living and working in New Jersey. Her greatest literary influences are Dr. Seuss, JK Rowling, and Harriet the Spy.

5 thoughts on “Podcasts You Should Be Listening To: Revisited

  1. Will have to check out Alohomora 🙂

  2. Man, I love my some This American Life.

  3. Pingback: Things That Go Through My Head While Working on a Jigsaw Puzzle | Honesty Time

Be Honest!

