Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Books

1 Comment

IMG_0396

Hi, friends!  So, I don’t know why, but books have been on my mind all day.  I really haven’t been reading that much since my mom re-activated her Netflix subscription and I realized that I have access to HBOgo.  But still, I’m not sure what it was today that got me thinking about reading.  I had originally planned to just post a list of books that I would like to read in the near future, but then that got me thinking about why we choose to read the books that we do.  I had a teacher in high school who refused to read anything that was on the top 100 best sellers list.  At the time I thought that he must be right, he was a teacher after all, and that maybe there was nothing to be learned from best selling books.  Now, though, I’m not sure that I agree with this.  I don’t doubt that there is a lot to be learned by reading classic literature but isn’t there something to be learned from any book?  I have started reading a few books that I just couldn’t get through, but for the most part, I figure that if someone took the time to put something down on paper, it must have some message that is worth reading.  Anyway, I guess the point that I’m trying to make is that, yes, I probably should read more classic literature or controversial books that are meant to teach an important lesson about humanity, but what’s wrong with reading something occasionally just for the sake of entertainment?

And of course, everyone should check out Lori’s book blog, which is basically a virtual book group, and such a cool idea.  Right now she is reading Divergent.  http://magicinthemargins.wordpress.com/2014/03/05/divergent-chapter-twenty-eight/

One thought on “Books

  1. I do not agree with not reading bestsellers, just for the simple fact that they are popular. That’s like people who stop listening to a band once they are on the radio because they “sell-out” and are too “mainstream.” Sure, not every book that does well financially is going to be a mastery of the English language (I’m looking at you, Twilight), but it doesn’t mean that book doesn’t have merit as a piece of literature or entertainment. I did my share of reading all of those classic books you are “supposed” to read. Now I just read things that I want. Screw the educational value. But still read my blog…

    Thanks for the shout-out, dude.

Be Honest!

