Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Welcome to Doctor Whoville. Population: Lori.

7 Comments

This post is dedicated to Allyssa.

I started watching Doctor Who the other day. Why? I have no idea.

I’ve thought about watching Doctor Who in the past, mostly because the guys on the Nerdist talk about it a lot and I know that my bro Allyssa is a huge fan. I usually trust their opinions.

The thought was daunting though. The original run of the show lasted from 1963 to 1989. Then it was rebooted in 2005 and has been going strong ever since. That’s a lot of episodes.

But I was fairly familiar with the mythology just from hearing other people talk about it. Like, I already know what a TARDIS is and that his name is the Doctor, not Doctor Who. And I know he’s a timelord and there are things called daleks and that a new Doctor was just named.

I already knew all of that going in, so I figured I could skip watching the original run of the show, and start with the reboot, which is conveniently on Netflix Instant.

When I’m not at work, I’ve been home by myself a lot the past week, and it’s been a while since I’ve binged watched a television show.

So on Saturday night when I was sitting at home alone with my cats (because I’m cool), I started browsing Netflix. I watched an episode of Four Weddings, but I couldn’t bring myself to actually binge watch that (that resolve will falter soon enough, I’m sure. I love that horrible show).

Then I came across Doctor Who again, so I decided now was a good time to get into it. I had a feeling I would get sucked in. I have a habit of doing that, getting really obsessed with things pretty quickly. It happened with Harry Potter. It happened with Game of Thrones. It happened with Chopped. (Harry Potter, Jon Snow, Ted Allen. Might as well be the same person.)

And now it’s happening with Doctor Who. As soon as Rose jumped into the TARDIS and decided to become the Doctor’s companion at the end of the first episode, my immediate thought was “crap.”

Now I’m invested. It’s so cheesy and the effects are terrible and the stories are a little absurd, but I already love it so damn much. It’s campy and fun and downright addicting.

I’m only halfway through the first season (or series, if you’re British and fancy), but I know that there’s no stopping me now. There are still quite a few episodes, and two other Doctors, to get through. Plus the whole first run of the show, which I should probably watch to be a “real” fan.

I’m in it. It’s happening. It can’t be stopped now.

She doesn’t even know I started watching, but I blame Allyssa.

Author: Lori

Lori is a writer living and working in New Jersey. Her greatest literary influences are Dr. Seuss, JK Rowling, and Harriet the Spy.

7 thoughts on “Welcome to Doctor Whoville. Population: Lori.

  1. Yes! I started watching this a few months ago on netflix. I thought that I really liked it but I lost interest after David Tennant regenerated. I guess I really just like him?

  2. YES!! I’m so excited! The production value improves after awhile. I love it. You’ll need your Amazon Prime account to watch some of the David Tennant specials before he regenerates into Matt Smith before season 5 (I think?), because for whatever reason, they aren’t on Netflix.

    I still have to watch the Classic episodes. It’s next on my list.

  3. Pingback: Binge Watching | Honesty Time

Be Honest!

