Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

What Would You Do if You Won the Lottery?

3 Comments

Yesterday, two people won (and ultimately have to split) $400 million in the lottery. There has also been a lot of talk recently of the Billion Dollar Bracket Challenge for March Madness. Last night at dinner, this led my parents and I into the discussion of “What Would You Do if You Won a Billion Dollars?” and I’ve been thinking about it ever since.

I would definitely request getting all the money in cash just so I can roll around in it.

I would definitely request getting all the money in cash just so I can roll around in it.

Listen, I may be a writer (by desire, if not in practice), but I think as a general rule, I tend to be much more analytical/logical than impulsive/romantic. Which is why my immediate answer to that question was: “put it in the bank.” That answer isn’t particularly interesting, though, is it?

I can honestly tell you that I wouldn’t blow my money on stuff. My father and 2/3 of my siblings are CPAs, so I have a sense on how to manage my money. We weren’t raised to make frivolous purchases or to covet material things over people. I’d be more than happy to raise my potential future family in a house like the one I grew up in. I don’t need, or particularly want, a huge house or a fancy car or expensive gadgets.

I’m really not trying to be self-congratulating here, just honest. Stuff doesn’t appeal to me. I have all the stuff I need, except for maybe customized soccer cleats from Nike, which would cost, max, $300 (my cleats would be so pretty).

I don’t think I’d stop working either. I’d get way too bored. I’d have the ability to actually do whatever I wanted, though, as opposed to working just to earn a living like most people.

What I really think I would do is travel to all the places on my list (including, but not limited to: California, Alaska, Hawaii, Australia, Costa Rica, Morocco, South Africa, and Greece). I hope that I can go to all of these places, and more, without winning a billion dollars, but that money sure would help.

My dad and I also discussed the idea of starting a charity that either involved puppies or poor children. But not giving puppies to poor children, because that would probably not benefit either party.

Seriously, though, I’d like to think that after my financial advisor (or, as I call him, “Dad”) and I determined the amount that I would need to set aside for my family and I to live a comfortably normal life, I’d do something important with the rest. And also buy myself a puggle.

This face is worth TEN billion dollars.

This face is worth TEN billion dollars.

I think that amount of money is just so hard to fathom actually possessing. Perhaps I wouldn’t actually be smart with the money at all and just by myself a giraffe and a helicopter or something.

What would you do if you won the lottery (or even more improbably, managed to guess the March Madness bracket perfectly)? I hope it’s something more interesting than what I said.

Author: Lori

Lori is a writer living and working in New Jersey. Her greatest literary influences are Dr. Seuss, JK Rowling, and Harriet the Spy.

3 thoughts on “What Would You Do if You Won the Lottery?

  1. When I think of winning the lottery, the first phrase that comes to mind is: Sallie Mae. And that’s about it. Otherwise, I’d just keep working and living

  2. Maybe this is selfish but I would really want to buy a beach house. But I would make sure it was big enough for all of my friends and family to come hang out all summer! Then I would pay for grad school, make some donations, invest a bit, and save the rest in the bank! I think.

Be Honest!

