Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

My Literary Crushes

2 Comments

So, we all know by now that here at Honesty Time, we are serious book nerds. We all have our favorites and we will fiercely defend those to anyone who cares to listen. I decided to make a list of my top male character crushes from books.

Here they are, in alphabetical order:

Charlie Weasley, Harry Potter series by JK Rowling

Listen, there is a lot of debate about which Weasley brother is the hottest (maybe just with my friends?). I fully stand by my choice that it is Charlie. I mean, look at that picture above. There is some mystery around Charlie because he is in Romania for most of the series and we only meet him briefly. That means we can let our imaginations develop his story, based on what we do know. He was the best Gryffindor seeker before Harry got there, so we know he’s an athlete. He works with dragons, and we meet quite a few of those, so we know he’s brave and adventurous. He never gets married, so we know he’s a free spirit (or perhaps gay?). Forget any other series JK Rowling might or might not write about the wizarding world…let’s get a book about Charlie’s adventures in Romania.

Edward Bloom, Big Fish by Daniel Wallace

It’s no secret that we love this book/movie/play, especially my bro Allyssa. But how could you not love the young Edward Bloom? He can take you on the most amazing adventures. Even if they aren’t true, wouldn’t you love to date someone with that kind of imagination? He is a man who loves his family more than anything. He’s romantic and smart and fun. If he wasn’t a little bit crazy, he’d be kind of perfect. And that scene with the daffodils? Swoon.

Gale Hawthorne, The Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins

My brother, more than anyone I know, is strongly on Team Gale. And I am too…but not for Katniss. With the way that the story played out and all that happened throughout the series, I firmly believe that Suzanne Collins made the right choice in having Katniss and Peeta end up together (uhhh…spoiler?). But Gale is so dreamy. And he can actually take care of himself. I love Peeta, but he is kind of useless most of the time. Not that I would be any better in the situations that he’s in. Which is exactly why Peeta and Katniss are perfect for one another, and Gale and I are perfect for one another. Katniss takes care of Peeta, Gale takes care of me. Done and done.

Theodore “Laurie” Laurence, Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

Who doesn’t want to date a guy who shares your name? Most people, probably. But I’m just narcissistic enough to be totally into that. Laurie and Lori. It’s perfect. Laurie is rich, charming, and handsome. He was the boy next door and a great friend to the March sisters. Jo March is one of my favorite characters of all time, but I will never forgive her for thinking that Friederich was a better choice for a husband than Laurie. And I will also never forgive Laurie for choosing to marry Amy, by far the worst of the March sisters. I still tear up every time I think about Amy destroying Jo’s book.

Logan Bruno, The Babysitters’ Club series by Ann M. Martin

I feel like in middle school, I was a combination of Kristy and Mary-Anne. Bookish, but also a tomboy (I might still be those things). So I totally loved both Bart and Logan, since they chose the more unconventional route of crushing on Kristy and Mary-Anne, respectively, over girls like Stacey and Claudia. If you don’t know what I’m talking about, then clearly your childhood was terrible and I’m sorry for you. Anyway, Logan was the best. He was a southern gentleman and the only male member of the Club. He was only an associate member, but that’s because he had other responsibilities, like sports. I bet as an adult, Logan and I would be soul mates.

Sport, Harriet the Spy by Louise Fitzhugh

I’ve made it very clear that Harriet the Spy is one of my favorite books of all time, hands-down. Sport is best friends with Harriet and Janie. He lives alone with his dad, who depends on him to cook, clean, and take care of their finances. Sport is responsible and smart. He is also forgiving – despite the mean things Harriet said about him in her notebook, he manages to forgive her and resume their friendship. I feel like Sport has far too much responsibility for an 11 year old. When he grows up, he needs someone to take care of him. I’d like to volunteer.

Wes Baker, The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen

Unfortunately there’s no actual pictures of Wes. Someone should really turn this book into a movie. Anyway…like most girls my age, I went through a serious Sarah Dessen phase in high school. The Truth About Forever was, no contest, my favorite. I haven’t read it in a really long time, but Wes was one of the first guys I thought of when compiling this list. I mean, reformed bad boy with a tragic backstory? He’s an athlete, he’s a sculptor, he’s smart, he loves his mom, he eats waffles. He’s just super hot. He’s basically the perfect teenage heartthrob. And I can only imagine that he grows up to be a successful and sensitive artist. I love him and Macy together, but I’d also be totally cool if he left her for me.


So these are my top literary crushes. I made this off the top of my head and went with the first guys I thought of, so I’m sure I’m missing some major ones. Do you agree with this list? Who is on your list?

Author: Lori

Lori is a writer living and working in New Jersey. Her greatest literary influences are Dr. Seuss, JK Rowling, and Harriet the Spy.

2 thoughts on “My Literary Crushes

  1. Love your list, Augustus Waters The Fault in our Stars and I’ll take Peeta over Gale any day.

  2. Pretty sure I’m still single because I haven’t found my Gale and/or (brother-husbands) Edward Bloom yet.

Be Honest!

