Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Plethora of Pancakes

2 Comments

For the past several weeks, I’ve been treating every Sunday as Pancake Day. It all started back when I had that ridiculous, nagging pancake craving. Ever since then, my tumbly-tum has just been expecting pancakes every weekend.

I don’t object to that.

So here I am, writing about pancakes, again.

I tweeted yesterday that my body is 1/3 pancakes, 1/3 cheese, and 1/3 tea.

And then somehow I had the brilliant idea of putting a tea product inside of my pancakes. This could be a whole new world of pancake experimentation. A dazzling place of pancake heaven I never knew.

(See what I did there?)

So let’s start basic here. The obvious, easy pairing would be chai mix in the pancake batter. Nothing too crazy or out of the ordinary here. There was some delicious Salted Caramel Chai Tea Latte mix from Trader Joe’s (apparently only available seasonally, which makes me sad) in my pantry.

 

Side note: my computer just changed “chai” to “Chair” (did it again!) and… well, Salted Caramel Chairs sound like a terrible idea. Nice try, autocorrect.

pancake ingredients

So I took out my trusty Wild Roots Pancake Mix and got cookin’.

For 10 mid-sized pancakes:

  • 1 cup WildRoots® Gluten Free Ancient Grain Pancake & Waffle Mix
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 tbsp. melted coconut oil
  • 1/3 cup coconut milk
  • ¼ cup water
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 or 2 tablespoons chai mix

 

What you do is mix the chai into your water and milk, not the dry pancake mix, so that you can taste the liquid to see if it’s flavorful enough. If it is, great, add in the rest of the ingredients and mix all together (so simple). Not enough? Add more chai. It’s fine.

Also, pancake flipping tip. When is the perfect time to flip your pancakes? When they look like this:

pancake flip

The bubbles are pretty set up, and the top of the pancake isn’t gooey, but it still needs to be fully cooked. This is how you get fluffy pancakes full of air pockets. If you flip too soon, the bubbles all break and that’s how your middles get gummy or dense, especially the case for gluten free ‘cakes.

When the pancakes were done, I sliced some apples and put them in the pan with butter and cinnamon sugar and cooked them until they were just soft, but still had a little bite in the center. Al dente for apples, if you will.

Slapped those apples on top of the pancakes and drizzled on just a touch of real maple syrup. Bam. Perfect. A happy weekend treat.

Author: Allyssa Ellen

A costumer, a makeup artist, an educator, and a librarian, all rolled up into one convenient, fun-sized package.

2 thoughts on “Plethora of Pancakes

  1. I’m coming over for breakfast every weekend. These look so good.

Be Honest!

