Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

I Was Hungry

Leave a comment

Okay so, keeping up with the craving theme, I had a craving for stovetop mac and cheese this past Sunday.  However, I was being picky and didn’t want the Kraft boxed mac or the Velveeta one. (I don’t really like the Velveeta boxed Mac and cheese).  So as I stood in my kitchen wondering what the hell to eat for lunch, I thought to myself “I can make my own! How hard could it possibly be to make a quick stovetop mac and cheese?”  Well readers…I made it.  It was phenomenal and lowfat!!! Goodbye boxed mac and cheese.

Keep in mind that I made this just for me, therefore it is a single serving size.

2014-03-30 13.17.02

Ingredients

 1 cup whole wheat pasta

3 TBSPN of Butter

2 TBSN of flour

1 cup 2% milk (warmed)

¾ cup of reduced fat cheese of your choice (I did a half mozzarella half sharp cheddar blend…yum)

Directions 

In a pot, bring water to boil, add some salt, and throw the pasta in.   While that is cooking, place butter in a separate medium sized pan on a low-medium heat to melt the butter.  You don’t want it to burn.  Once the butter is melted, add the flour and whisk together until it turns a little brown.  (I cooked it like this for about 3-4 mins)  Add and whisk in your milk.  You might need to add more flour or milk if your mixture is too thick or thin.  Use your judgment…the texture is up to you, but remember you want it to be slightly thick, creamy and full of cheesy deliciousness.  Your pasta needs to be coated.  Then add the cheese! I love cheese.  By this time, your pasta should be done.  Drain pasta and place back into pot.  Pour your yummy cheese sauce onto your pasta and mix.  Top with fresh black pepper and enjoy!

Author: AmandaMarie

I am a 2011 graduate of Drew University with a Bachelor's Degree in Art History with a minor in Art. I have taken wide-range of art courses, which include 2D design, 3D design, Drawing, Ceramic Sculpture, Photography (both black and white and digital), Computer Graphics, and printmaking (intaglio). I have had prior black and white photography experience from three years of classes in high school as well. I hope that this blog will be a way for me to showcase my work to various people and future clients.

Be Honest!

