Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

A random post – are you a morning or night person?

1 Comment

This is an unofficial survey- do you consider your self more of a morning person or a night person?

DSC01403

I’m not sure why, but this has been on my mind all day.  When we were in college I could stay up until 1:00am and still be wide awake and on the train going to an all day internship with just a shower and a cup of coffee.  I like to say, “I must be getting old,” but really, in just 3 years, how much could my circadian clock really have changed?  I don’t really like staying up very late just because anymore, but I think that the real difference is that I’ve always been a morning person.  I could probably go with coffee for quite a long time if I had to.  I’ve always been a fairly early riser, even when I was a teenager, I rarely slept past 9am.  While being woken up at 6:30am by my alarm isn’t my favorite part of the day, I do usually enjoy those peaceful hours in the morning, not being rushed to get ready before a busy work day begins.  I know other people though who will “snooze” for another 30 minutes after it’s time to wake up, take a super fast shower, skip breakfast, and grab a coffee on the go and slide into their desk only a few minutes after the time that they actually woke up.  But then, they will happily stay up until 2 or 3 in the morning and never feel tired.  Just thinking about that makes me feel anxious.

I thought about adding some tips for how to have a quick and efficient morning and get to work on time but then I realized that I don’t actually have any.  It’s just something that has always been pretty easy for me.  Obviously people can adapt to different schedules, but do you think maybe everyone really tends to prefer one over the other?  Do you think if your parents are morning people and you grow up in an early rising household, you’re more likely to maintain those patterns throughout your life?  Anyway, sorry to break away from the food theme for the week, but these just some random thoughts that I had today and felt like sharing.

Also, doesn’t that picture just make you want to kiss Tucker right on the nose?  I know I do.

One thought on “A random post – are you a morning or night person?

  1. I’m most definitely a morning person. I may have been able to fake it in college, but now the thought of staying up past 11 pm makes me want to cry. My parents are the same way, so that’s probably why. I just feel like the day is a total waste if I don’t wake up before at least 930.

    I’m a big supporter of naps, however.

Be Honest!

