Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Physical Therapy for Fibromyalgia

2 Comments

After 20 sessions of physical therapy for my back and fibromyalgia pain, I’m all done! Finally.

Does it work?

Does PT really work for fibromyalgia?

I have herniated 2 discs in my back before, way back in the student teaching days (haha “way back”), so a lot of times, my fibro likes to rear its ugly head in my back. Also my knees, but since my back has had a tangible, physical injury that isn’t so confusing to doctors, as fibro is, we decided on PT for my back.

Learning the proper pelvic tilt for rehab-ing the back, and also a stretch. Image from pponline.co.uk

Learning the proper pelvic tilt for rehab-ing the back, and also a stretch. Image from pponline.co.uk

It was a lot of stretches and pelvic tilt exercises. I also did some work on the stability ball, and eventually did pull downs while on the stability ball. All of this work was to stretch and improve mobility in my hips and back, while strengthening the muscles in my back and the lower core.

 

Image from, and more information about stretching on a foam roller can be found at http://www.physiodc.com/why-should-i-stretch-my-back-on-foam-roll/

Image from, and more information about stretching on a foam roller can be found at http://www.physiodc.com/why-should-i-stretch-my-back-on-foam-roll/

Image from truth2beingfit.com

Image from truth2beingfit.com

My favorite stretch was the blissful minute in which I got to lay over a foam roller and feel all the tension in my back and shoulders melt away.

Did I think it was worth it?

My PT scored me three times on a pain index chart and my score was definitely lower the last time. Granted, I happened to throw out my back and piss off my discs the first day I had PT (some coincidence), but even after that got better, I was still seeing pain improvements.

This is also keeping in mind that as a fibromyalgia patient, I know that my score will never be zero. I still give myself a high number (higher numbers = worse) on items such as

“My pain affects my social life”

“I can’t stand longer than 30 minutes without an increase in pain”

“I can’t walk more than half a mile without an increase in pain”

and other such factors.

 

But I improved!

A similar pain index chart to the one that I was scored on. Click to see the image larger. Image from http://www.goodsirchiro.com/back

A similar pain index chart to the one that I was scored on. Click to see the image larger. Image from http://www.goodsirchiro.com/back

Now that PT is over, I know that it’s up to me to keep up the practice on my own, but I think I can do it. I’ll at least give it my best shot.

I also got a new desk chair, new memory foam pillows, and a foot stool for under my desk so I don’t have to stretch out my hips and lower back trying to get my feet to touch the ground.

Short people problems.

I believe that PT is also about a lifestyle change and awareness. And with fibromyalgia, every little step counts.

I feel stronger, I feel less constant lower back pain, and I feel as if I have the tools in my “Fibro Warrior” tool box to know what I need to do to help myself out on days (or weeks) that I feel out of sorts.

I recommend it.

Author: Allyssa Ellen

A costumer, a makeup artist, an educator, and a librarian, all rolled up into one convenient, fun-sized package.

2 thoughts on “Physical Therapy for Fibromyalgia

  1. I got to lay on a foam roller at the end of every session when I went to PT. It was the best thing I did there.

  2. Pingback: DIY Desk Chair Slip Cover | Honesty Time

Be Honest!

