Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Facing Your Fears

1 Comment

Image

Ah you guys!  I’m so nervous.  Tonight I have to introduce my boss at an awards ceremony that’s being held by the board of directors and senior staff members of the agency that I work at!  Yikes.  For those of you who don’t know, I have two basic phobias:

1) Anything with more than 4 legs

2) Public speaking.

Everyone says that the only way to get past your fears is to face them head on.  I figure since there is absolutely no chance in the world that I will ever face up to number one, I might as well start chipping away at number two.

For as long as I can remember, and even before according to my parents, I have hated to be the center of attention.  This is why I in my first ever dance recital, where I was supposed to emerge from a box as a cute little kitten dancing around in lime green leopard print and sequins, when the nice older dance girl came to release me, I stayed in the box for the entire recital.  This is also probably why I have always gravitated towards team sports, hated piano recitals at the retirement home in my town and hated raising my hand to answer a question at school, or give a presentation to a class.  I can’t put my finger on it exactly, but public speaking makes me so nervous, typical butterflies in your stomach, sweaty palms, super-fast-high-pitched-talking kind of nervous.

This is why, when someone called me up and told me that I would have to present this award in front of ALL of my bosses an co-workers, after a moment of, OHGODNO, I decided that this would be a good chance to face my fear.  I’ve spent the past 3 days looking up tips to not be nervous, and not sweat, and not talk to fast.  The best advice I’ve gotten so far, that I fully intend to follow, is to have a drink first.

So, I have my introduction written and I’m just going to try to breathe.  Please! Let me know if you have any advice about public speaking, or anything that has helped you face your fears in the past!

 

(Photo from radicalpublicspeaking.com)

One thought on “Facing Your Fears

  1. I got anxious just reading about public speaking…

    …good luck tonight! 🙂

Be Honest!

