Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Changing Careers, as told by GIFs

7 Comments

Well. I’m leaving one of my jobs. I’m looking for a new, hopefully full time job. I’ve given up on teaching. And I’m done with costumes for a while, until I can build myself back up and hone my skill to become something actually respectable. I’m looking for a job right now in literally any sector. But I don’t even know where to start, what I’m qualified for, or anything. And I’d like to not get offered $10/hr like a teenager who babysits, thanks.

Here’s how I feel right now, as told by some of my favorite shows. I know many of us can relate.

Yes. I quit.

benmic

 

I’m looking for new jobs. I like to think that I’m doing well in my current field…

ben-wyatt-claymaysh Buuuuut maybe I’m not.

Ron-Swanson-Re-Think-That-Move-Son-Parks-and-Recreation

Then… Someone offers me an interview and it looks favorable!

partying

….buuuuut they’re only offering me $10/hr, full-time, with no overtime, even though I’d be working overtime hours.

slm angry-dwightWhat I feel like I’m qualified to do

11onswing

What I am qualified to do

house

I’m writing cover letters and redoing my resume a lot

andydwyer-whatthingsare aprilwizard

How I’m trying to cope with the stress

wilsonhouse maccheesepizza

Advice people are giving me because I’m sad and anxious

rusnap Where I’m going to go from here

beats-me

How this whole “looking for an entirely new career” thing is making me feel

shm1 dead

How I know I’ll end up eventually, so don’t worry, no matter how long it may take.

amy-poehler-100th-episode

Gifs from buzzfeed.com, reactiongifs.com, doctorwhogifs.tumblr.com, gifrific.com, perezhilton.com, newnownext.com, and housemdgifs.tumblr.com

Author: Allyssa Ellen

A costumer, a makeup artist, an educator, and a librarian, all rolled up into one convenient, fun-sized package.

7 thoughts on “Changing Careers, as told by GIFs

  1. I think we should make a new blog rule that all of our posts need to feature AT LEAST this much Ben Wyatt ❤ ❤

  2. I know exactly how you feel. I lost my job last year (my entire office was the victim of “downsizing”) and wound up taking a position that I don’t like and am not qualified for just to make ends meet. Welcome to the new economy, and good luck. On a side note, kudos for using a Doctor Who gif 🙂

  3. The subject of this post is a bummer, but it seems like you have a good attitude towards this change. I hope things turn around soon, then we will all have a Lesley Knope dance party together!

Be Honest!

