Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Cookie Monsters

6 Comments

You know what we don’t talk about nearly enough on this blog? Cookies. I mean, I just can’t think of one single time where any of us even mentioned the word “cookie.” I just feel like it’s my duty, as a friend and co-founder of Honesty Time, to right this wrong. I am taking it upon myself, on this most holy of days, to remedy our immense oversight. I’m basically a hero.

You see, my friends, today is National Chocolate Chip Cookie Day. It is by far the most important of holidays. Homemade chocolate chip cookies are my favorite cookies of all time. No contest. And I eat a lot of cookies.

I was trying to figure out what my other favorite cookies are, and surprisingly the answer is not “all of them” (Thin Mints and oatmeal raisin can GTFO). This week I’m going to share my list of favorite types of cookies, because I know that there is nothing that you all could possibly care more about (spoiler alert: chocolate chip cookies are number 1).

Also, let’s just assume that unless I specify a brand, I prefer this homemade (I’ve included some recipes).

20. Frosted sugar cookies
19. Oatmeal chocolate chip (not raisin!)
18. Pillsbury’s cut and bake cookies
17. Danish butter cookies
16. Tagalongs
15. Chocolate crinkle cookies
14. Red velvet cookies
13. Shortbread cookies
12. Oreos (with peanut butter!)
11. Chips Deluxe Rainbow cookies
10. Samoas
9. Cookies & cream cookies
8. Amanda’s mom’s Christmas cookies (they all get grouped together…you haven’t lived until you’ve had them)
7. Black & white cookies
6. Apricot hamantaschen (minus the walnuts)
5. Sainsbury’s caramel shortcake bites (#1 reason I want to go back to London…)
4. Snickerdoodles
3. Monster pudding cookies (in case you missed last week’s blog)
2. Peanut butter cookies
1. Chocolate chip cookies (I like the classic Nestle recipe best)

These are the 20 I could think of right now. I’m sure I’m missing some obvious ones and that this list could probably be way longer. Basically, I usually don’t like nuts in cookies (although I love peanut butter and the occasional macadamia) and I hate raisins. And no  mint with my chocolate. Ever, ever, ever.

Anywho, clearly I have a lot of feelings about cookies. What are your favorites? Feel free to share any recipes you love. And don’t forget to eat a chocolate chip cookie today! (or 12)

Author: Lori

Lori is a writer living and working in New Jersey. Her greatest literary influences are Dr. Seuss, JK Rowling, and Harriet the Spy.

6 thoughts on “Cookie Monsters

  1. Definitely missing peanut blossoms…we only ever make these around Christmas time, I think I like them more because I only get them once a year. We also discovered that they’re even better if you use a mini peanut butter cup in place of the chocolate kiss.

    http://www.pillsbury.com/recipes/peanut-blossoms/b5de97ec-9e31-4303-8cb7-9484b5e4e86b

  2. Pingback: 101 Things I Love | Honesty Time

  3. Pingback: Things I Love About Christmas, Even Though I Don’t Celebrate It | Honesty Time

  4. Pingback: Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Banana Pudding Cookies | Honesty Time

Be Honest!

