Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Remembering Senior Week

Leave a comment

Today is the day before the class of 2014 graduates at our alma mater. Lori, Kaely, and I spent today reminiscing, trying to recall our senior week. I can’t remember a lot of it. No, not because I was drunk. My memory is just awful most times. What I can recall is that it was actually a lot of fun and probably one of the most enjoyable times I had at school.

Senior week festivities

Senior week festivities

The first day of senior week, we had a “fancy” dinner in our dining hall, which basically means professors and administrators served the seniors a catered meal that really wasn’t even restaurant quality, but I suppose it’s the thought that counts, right? They brought in beer and wine and had chocolate fountains for dessert and even had a band if I remember correctly. After dinner, we had a put crawl in town. A trolley picked us up at school and dropped us at a bar where everyone hung out for some time before wandering to the other three bars. I just remember running from place to place having a great time.

Senior week festivities

Senior week festivities

The next day, I went with a small group on one of the organized trips. I went paintballing somewhere in the middle of Pennsylvania. I’d never been paintballing, but it was fun. I don’t regret going, but I also wound’t have minded being back at school or doing something else with friends instead. There was a white party that night which I of course didn’t go to and it was supposedly one of the more fun nights of the week. I’m a loser.

Senior week festivities

Senior week festivities

The night before graduation, I went to a Yankee game (natch) and got back to campus just in time to join everyone partying outside our dorms. For this one night all year, our campus public safety doesn’t do anything about the wildness of the night, which made it all the better. At midnight, everyone ran around like lunatics. I never thought I would cry about graduating, but I cried that night. It was an emotional time.

It’s funny to see how the following senior weeks are similar and different to mine. I wish I could go back and relive it. It makes me realize how fast time is passing and how I’m really considered an adult now. How sad.

 

Be Honest!

