Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Cat Lady Problems

3 Comments

I almost forgot to write my post for tonight! This has been a cuh-RAZY day. I just got home from our first night of tech over at my show. But that hasn’t been the crazy part.

Licorice has been vomiting and being a sad diarrhea poop cat (poop cat is an official Honesty Time term) and I couldn’t figure out why.

So I had to ask around and find a veterinarian because I really dislike the vet that I took the cats to in the fall. He honestly did not care about my concerns for my cats, did not think Licorice was overweight (and she so is) and even neglected to come up with any solutions to Licorice’s past eye infection and Jasmine’s chronic upset tummy.

So that search for a new vet was a necessary scramble. Then I settled on one with good reviews that had been recommended by a few friends on Facebook, and I called and made an appointment. By that point in the morning, Licorice had thrown up a nice bundle of ribbon from the birthday balloons my mom had bought me.

Beautiful.

Long story short, the vet figured that the ribbons were causing all of the problems, but it had all been happening since Thursday, so that was a long time to have ribbons potentially shredding my cat’s insides.

So now Licorice is on a boat load of medicine for her tummy and the apparent ear infection she also has. She’s also on a diet because she’s overweight and her new food will probably help make Jasmine’s own barrel full of tummy troubles better as well.

And this new vet was able to help me out with all of this while smiling, explaining everything, and wanting to know everything I was concerned about. A win, I would say.

When I left, all of the staff members scolded me for letting the cat have access to ribbons in the first place.

But the funny thing? We have no clue how Licorice even got the balloon ribbons.

They were tied up way way way out of her reach.

Ninja cat strikes again.

20140602-231424-83664301.jpg

That’s a shot of Licorice from just now. She won’t sit with me because I’ve been trying to get her to take her medicine. The liquid went down easily enough (though somehow there is some on her fur there …), but we cannot get her to take the pill. Not in a Pill Pocket, not crushed in her wet food, and certainly not the old fashioned way.

Cat ownership is a struggle. But I love my cats anyway and I would never trade them for anything in the world.

20140602-231809-83889455.jpg

Author: Allyssa Ellen

A costumer, a makeup artist, an educator, and a librarian, all rolled up into one convenient, fun-sized package.

3 thoughts on “Cat Lady Problems

  1. Aw, poor kitty. I hope she feels better soon.

    In other news, good use of “poop cat.” I feel like we should create an Honesty Time dictionary.

    • I think we should make a dictionary. It would also feature brocabulary and “janky” and all of that fun stuff.

      • I was actually thinking the other day that an Honesty Time glossary might be really useful to people – it could also include “nerds”, “thick”, and “laxin”.

        I also hope Licorice is feeling better!

Be Honest!

