Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

This Week in My Life

3 Comments

Full disclosure: I had no idea what to write about today. So I did what I always do when I don’t know what to write: I looked through my old journals. I was then inspired by the app Time Hop to look specifically at this week in my journals. I decided to post a bit of every entry I wrote this week (or as close as I could get) since I first started writing in journals in third grade.

I feel like I might want to try this again another week, since there are gaps when I didn’t write at all during this time. I’m not sure anyone really cares, though.

Everything in italics is my commentary from today.

June 10, 1998

I don’t know what to tell you but I have a party tomorrow, Friday, Saturday and plus on Sunday I’m going to see the Loin King.

I was a party animal. Also, that’s not a typo. I wrote “Loin.” Best Broadway show ever?

June 2, 1999

Heather hates me. Amanda hated me. Now she likes me. I don’t know why.

Dramaaaaa!


I apparently stopped writing between March and November 2000. Then again between April and August 2001. Then again between March and December 2002. Apparently the ends of 5th, 6th, and 7th grades weren’t that exciting. To be fair, it’s probably for the best that the part of my life that I chronicled the least was middle school. Nobody wants to remember that horrible time. Let’s skip to 2003…


June 6, 2003

I just finished my Lit. final. Oh wow. How incredibly easy! Friday. Again. Icky yicky. I have 3, count em, 3, finals on Monday. Spanish, Social Studies, and Science.

Can someone explain to me why the idea of it being Friday was so “icky yicky” to me? I wasn’t that big of a nerd in 8th grade, was I? (anyone who knew me in 8th grade…don’t answer that.)

June 19, 2004

Happy Father’s Day! School is over. The main thing about school I’ll miss is my friends, obviously, but mostly homeroom. Homeroom was amazing this year.

Homeroom was amazing in 9th grade. I made a couple of friends in that homeroom that are still some of my best friends today.

June 13, 2005

I’m supposed to be studying right now, but I’m not. David put a picture on his MySpace of him, Keri, and Kimmi and wrote “the rest of the sisters.” Um. Hello? What about me?

I at least hope my brother kept me in his Top 8.

June 11, 2006

I’m over him. For real this time. I swear. I hope.

Anyway…I had quite the interesting weekend. Friday night I played mini golf. Saturday morning was the soccer car wash and the diner with the team. Then I went to Diana’s to meet her new boyfriend.

I seem to be very indecisive lately. I need to start making up my mind.

First, I definitely did get over “him.” Second, that mini golf course is now a Walmart parking lot. Third, that weekend doesn’t seem THAT interesting. Fourth, I’m still too indecisive.

June 8, 2007

I invited Diana to come over tomorrow to watch The World Series of Pop Culture with me. It’s basically our favorite show ever.

I totally forgot about that show! Diana and I were obsessed with it. It was a trivia game show about pop culture and it was our goal to get on it one day. It needs to be brought back.

June 5, 2008

I’ve been doing a lot of thinking. A lot of thinking. About soccer, mostly. And I just don’t know what to do. Playing on the team this summer has brought a lot of perspective to my life. For the first time in a year, I’m having actual fun when I’m playing. And something about that just isn’t okay. I used to live to play soccer. I was the happiest in my life when I was on a field. I lived my life game to game, practice to practice. My team was my family.

But now everything’s different with the college team. I don’t live for soccer anymore. I dread it. I hate practice and I don’t even want to be put in the game sometimes. I hate how serious everything is on the college team. I miss laughing while playing. I hate being yelled at.

But quitting? That’s terrifying. I fear disappointing my friends and coaches and dad. I’m scared of losing my friendships with the teammates I do care about. And more than anything in the world, I’m scared shitless of losing myself. If I’m not playing soccer, then who am I? Soccer has been my life since I was 5 years old. It’s all I know. I’m not sure I can leave all that behind me.

Sorry, I know this entry is longer than the others and more serious. I honestly forgot what a big deal this was for me that summer: deciding whether or not to quit my college soccer team. I ultimately lasted one more season and then quit, but it was a really tough decision for me. I don’t regret it for a second.

June 8, 2009

On Friday afternoon we went on a tour of Cusco. It sucked. Our tour guides are lame, and I felt like shit. I just did not want to be there.

Saturday was cool. We did this stove making project with a company called ProWorld. We went to a town about an hour outside of Cusco and built stoves for families to improve their way of life. It was awesome. The family we built a stove for was so adorable. I loved them. It was a really good day.

Now we are on a train to Machu Picchu, which I’m excited for. We are here until tomorrow.

I did a really superb job of describing my time in Cusco, Peru, eh? “lame,” “cool,” “good,” “excited.” What a use of the English languge.

June 7, 2010

God, this is the first time in my life where I can remember hating the fact that it’s summer. I don’t have any desire to go to the beach or even go outside. The hot weather is pissing me off. There are only, like, 3 people from home I want to spend time with. I am dreading starting this internship. I miss Drew and my friends more than anything in the world right now. I don’t know. I’ve been thinking about graduating and I’m absolutely terrified of it. At least right now I know that at the end of the summer, Drew will be there. That’s only going to be true until next May. And then it’s over. Drew feels more like home to me now than my home does. So what am I supposed to do when Drew isn’t home anymore?

God, I was cranky. First of all, that internship I was dreading absolutely rocked. Second of all, my friends from home are the freaking best. And third of all, I’m happy to say that three years after graduating college, I’ve learned that it’s not SO scary in the real world. I’m making it work.

June 5, 2011

I went to Djais in Belmar over Memorial Day Weekend. It was my first real Jersey shore experience as a 21 year old. Interesting. Fun, but not really my thing. I miss the good ol’ days of comfy London pubs.

I haven’t done much of anything this week. Friday, I went to visit Allyssa at her new apartment in Madison. Rachel came too. It was weird to be back in Madison and not going to Drew. But we went to Panera, Red Mango, St. Hubert’s, and the Madison Wine Cellar. So we still hit up all of our favorite places.

I’ve had much better Jersey shore bar experiences since that night, at much better places.

RIP Allyssa’s apartment in Madison.

June 12, 2012

Friday night I went to this bar called Huddy’s Inn with the high school crew to see Caitlin’s friend’s band play. It was fun, as usual with those guys. We stayed out later than I wanted to, though. I had to wake up at 6:30 am to go to a soccer tournament. We played, and won, 3 games. I played for the entirety of all 3 games. It was fun and felt good. That is until I hurt my back. I kept playing and was fine, but it was painful. But now it’s killing me and I had to babysit late tonight. Now it hurts a million times worse because kids are really close to the ground, as it turns out. Now all I can think about is how badly I want a new job so I can quit but I’m never going to get one. And M’s new thing is to grab my boobs all the time. Listen, I know they’re great, but what the hell, kid? Okay, so he’s three years old, but is it too much to ask for a job where I don’t get felt up all the time?

I laughed so hard at this. I mean, the year after college was a rough time for me, before I found my current job. I actually loved babysitting those kids, but doing it with a pulled back muscle was not easy. And I’m happy to report that no one feels me up at my current job.

June 5, 2013

My coworkers and I went out for sushi today. It was fun. Some people went out after work but I didn’t feel like it. Sometimes I can be really lame.

Just sometimes? Sure, let’s go with that.

 

Author: Lori

Lori is a writer living and working in New Jersey. Her greatest literary influences are Dr. Seuss, JK Rowling, and Harriet the Spy.

3 thoughts on “This Week in My Life

  1. I love this! Great idea. Might have to do it.
    I was wondering if I could include much of this post in a book I’m working one where real people who write share about it. it’s to inspire people to write. I love the idea of using honest, simple and raw words to inspire, and your entries would fit well with the rest of the book.
    I’d also love to include that photo since it’s a very visual book of people’s writing spaces and notebooks.
    Your name, age and location would be included and all credit would go to you, and copyright stays with you.
    All good if you’re not interested, but definitely hope you’ll say yes!
    JD.

    • Hi! I think your book is a great idea and I would love to be a part of it. Feel free to use the photo and anything I write on here (just remember there are 4 other bloggers that post here too – so if you want any of their stuff you’ll have to ask their permission too 🙂 )

      For any other information, feel free to email honestytime5@gmail.com. I’d be happy to chat about your book, our blog, or anything else. Thanks!

  2. Pingback: This Week in My Life: July | Truths with Lori and Allyssa

Be Honest!

