Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Disconnecting

6 Comments

DSC01406

This morning I was running late for work.  I usually wake up at 7:15am, leave for work at 8:40am and arrive at 9:00am.  That should be more than enough time for a quick shower, some breakfast, and to get out the door.  As I was speed walking my way across Philadelphia, I was thinking about what my hold up was in the morning.  It was obvious immediately, the computer.  The first thing I do every morning as I’m drinking my coffee is delete all of my junk email, check the news, check a few blogs that I know are updated over night.  The next thing you know it’s 8:00 and I’m still sitting here in my pajamas, but then I get another email, then I have to check the weather and see if I need my umbrella, and I just have to read on more article because I don’t know if i’ll be able to find it later and I still don’t understand bookmarks, and then, what do you know, it’s 8:45 and I still have to brush my teeth and get dressed.

The more I thought about it during the day, the more I realize that I spend my entire day looking at screens.  From the moment I wake up until I go to sleep, it’s laptop, cell phone, desktop, laptop, iPad, cell phone.  Sleep, repeat.  As I’m writing this, I have my iPad playing “Orange is the New Black” to the left of my laptop, and my cell phone is lighting up on the right.  I’ve also started to notice some physical effects of all of this computer time, my distance vision is suffering as I spend more and more hours peering at the screens right in front of me.  I try to look off into the distance every 2o minutes like my doctor suggested, but I don’t even have a window to look out of, and every 20 minutes is actually a lot in an 8 hour day.

With all of this in mind, I’m challenging myself to disconnect a bit.  I really don’t need to be jumping on the computer the second my eyes open in the morning.  I can get the news from the radio, we even get an actual newspaper delivered that neither of us ever read.  Im can’t minimize the amount of time I spend on the computer at work, but I definitely can reduce the amount of time I spend at home.  More real books, more radio, more time outside, maybe even more yoga or meditating.  I think some silence wouldn’t be the worst thing for a few minutes a day.

What do you guys think, is everyone else staring at screens as much as I am?  Does anyone want to try to disconnect with me?

6 thoughts on “Disconnecting

  1. I super agree with this idea of needing to disconnect. I couldn’t sleep last night so what was I doing at 4am? iPhone. It certainly wasn’t helping my sleeplessness, that’s for sure. I’m hoping that being at day camp all summer will help ween me away from the computer. I’m also trying to go back to reading before bed at night instead of catching something on Netflix. We’ll see how it goes!

    • I’m trying to implement the “no technology in the bedroom” thing, except that I use my phone as my alarm so it’s always right next to my head.

  2. You should get glasses so you can be nerds like the rest of us.

    I’m on my computer constantly. I even sat outside over the weekend to read a book on my computer. I now realize that that’s kind of sad.

    • I almost downloaded a book the other day, it’s tempting because it’s cheaper than buying the actual book, but I think I may go for a paper copy just to get a break.

  3. Pingback: Binge Watching | Honesty Time

  4. Pingback: Summer Reading | Honesty Time

Be Honest!

