Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

The Kinsey Scale

1 Comment

 

Hi guys, so if you haven’t gathered through our bios or postings thus far, we are big fans of sociology and gender studies over here at Honesty Time – with 4 out of 5 of us majoring/minoring in one of those subjects.  Despite having a degree in behavioral science, I had never heard of the Kinsey Scale until this past weekend.  Basically the Kinsey Scale was developed as a way to place people on a sexuality scale from exclusively heterosexual to exclusively homosexual.  This past weekend I was with a group of friends and we all took a test that was developed to place individuals on this scale.  I think it’s important to note that the test and the scale were developed by two different people, the scale first, and then the test as a way to place people on the scale.   Our group had a wide range of sexual orientations so it was interesting to see how people interacted with the scale.

I self-identify as heterosexual, but I actually managed to fail the test.  My result was, “The test failed to match you to a Kinsey Type profile. Either you answered some questions wrong, or you are a very unusual person.”  I’m not sure that I believe I answered any of the questions wrong since it’s true/false, but maybe they think that I lied?  The only thing that I can think of is that maybe some of my answers contradicted each other to the point that I couldn’t be placed on the scale?

I just thought this would be interesting to share with my sociology bros.  What do you guys think?  Do you see sexuality as this fluid kind of scale system, or has it always been more black and white to you?  Do you want to take the test?  If you want, share your results below.  Were you surprised?  Did you get the result that you expected?

I imagine Katy Perry would score somewhere in here:

1- Predominantly heterosexual, only incidentally homosexual

2- Predominantly heterosexual, but more than incidentally homosexual

One thought on “The Kinsey Scale

  1. I’ve heard of the Kinsey scale, but I’ve never taken the test. I also got “The test failed to match you to a Kinsey Type profile. Either you answered some questions wrong, or you are a very unusual person.” Wtf is wrong with us?

Be Honest!

