Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Summer Reading

1 Comment

Hi everyone!  This post is a bit selfish on my part, because I’m really actually looking for suggestions from other people.  If you can remember, I wrote a post a few weeks ago about trying to disconnect a bit and be less reliant on my computer and phone and iPad, etc. for entertainment.  I’ve found myself spending a little more time outside, going for walks or the gym, but what I was really hoping for was to read more books.  When I was a kid I used to read so many books every summer.  I used to wait anxiously for the latest Harry Potter book and then REALLY disconnect for a few days until I finished it and then read tons of book on top of that.  So much so that my mom tried to hide one of the books from me one time so that I would spend time with my grandparents who were visiting.  I think that the difference is, when I was younger I would just read whatever I wanted or thought would be interesting, regardless of what anyone else said or thought about it.

Anyway, this summer I was hoping to read a few more books, but so far, I’ve started two and become very bored with them and not finished.  I think my problem is that I’ve been trying to read books that are supposed to be “good” for me.  Or that I can learn something about.  I think that both types of books are important, and I also think it’s important to have a balance.  For now, I’m going to take a break from these “important books” and try to find something that I can really enjoy and get caught up in.  I’m heading on vacation in a few weeks and looking for suggestions for some good beach reads.  This is where everyone else comes in, if you want!  For my part, in the past year I have gotten though a few books that I’ve really enjoyed, (below) incase anyone else is looking for suggestions too!

Sharp Objects – Gillian Flynn

Wild – Cheryl Strayed

Rules of Civility – Amor Towles

The Art Forger – B.A. Shapiro

One thought on “Summer Reading

  1. I already gave you my suggestion yesterday, but for the rest of the world: Unwind Dystology by Neal Shusterman. Three books so far with a fourth coming out in the fall. If you like young adult dystopian futures, read this. Do it.

Be Honest!

