Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

New York City Bucket List

7 Comments

Soooo I love New York City. I personally wouldn’t mind living there at some point in my life. I’ve been there a million times throughout my life, but I feel like I don’t know it all that well. I mean, I can navigate it just fine (mostly) but I want to see everything and do everything. There’s so much. Some things that I did when I was younger, I can’t quite remember. So why not do them again? This here (in no particular order) is my New York City Bucket List. Thank you Kaely for this idea.

1. Top of the Rock (Rockefeller Center for you rookies)

2. Any cronut shop. Preferably the original. Are there knockoff versions? I’m not sure. I should investigate more.

3. Shake Shack. Not the one at CitiField because, ew the Mets. But I want me some legit fast food please.

4. Food tours of Little Italy. My people. You may as well roll me around there since I’ll gain alllll the weight. YOLO.

5. Dueling Pianos. We’ve all blogged many, many times about the magic of Pat’s and our experience there. We have yet to find a dueling pianos bar in the area, but we’re on a mission.

5. Biergarten. Isn’t there one downtown somewhere, with an awesome view of water and sunsets and the Statue of Liberty? I’ve heard rumors of its existence…y/n?

6. Bakeries. Because everyone claims to have the best something. I’ll be the judge of that. Like I said above, you’re gonna be rolling me around Manhattan.

7. Coffee shops. I don’t need the Starbucks every block. I want the places that put those fancy designs in your latte. Support the little man, yanno?

8. Vintage stores. I love shopping but can’t afford anything at those big department stores. But if I can find a deal at one of these places on something awesome, heck why not.

9. Ellis Island and the Statue of Liberty. I haven’t been to Ellis Island in maybe eight years, and the Statue of Liberty even longer than that. I can’t even remember. But I had family come through Ellis Island and a relative’s name is on the wall there. There were talks a while back that the rest of the island was being restored, but then Hurricane Sandy came and screwed everything up. I wish they would though…I also had a family member who was born in the hospital there. It would be cool to see that part of the building.

10. Hidden subway stations. I think all that hidden stuff in the city is cool and I like exploring that stuff. “Haunted” stuff doesn’t really scare me, and I don’t know if it is, but those mysterious places like these are often overlooked by tourists, so…get me there.

11. Seeing all the parks in the city. All the green spaces beyond Central Park. Because they are pretty. Trees please.

12. Sports! You all know how I feel about the Yankees (game anyone?) but I would like to frequent some Knicks and Rangers games if anyone’s down…

13. The Bronx Zoo. The Bleacher Creatues? Noo, animals! I’ve never been but I hear it’s one of the best zoos. I haven’t been to a zoo since I was in Peru. This is a lot of rhyming. Woo.

14. New York Botanical Garden. Perhaps hit this and the zoo in the same day because they are neighbors. I loveee flowers though. I want to frolic around this pretty place.

15. Brooklyn Bridge. Because it’s another typical tourist spot and I obviously need a good picture to put on Instagram. I mean…I’ve never seen it up close. Or walked it. Yep.

16. 9/11 Memorial and Museum. I haven’t seen the place up close since it was a hole in the ground with dump trucks going in and out of it. I’ve heard the memorial is beautiful and the museum will suck every emotion you have out of you, but I don’t know, some crazy part of me wants to experience it. It’s still fresh in my mind.

17. Coney Island. Everyone goes there so let’s see what all the hype is about. I love amusement parks and the beach.

18. The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon. Because I adore the man too much to put into words.

19. Saturday Night Live. Because you don’t get any more “NYC” than SNL.

20. The New York Public Library. The building is beautiful and the only image I really have of it is from The Day After Tomorrow, and that’s just not right.

21. Fashion Week. I’m obsessed with shopping, and I love fashion even though I’m not so great at it. But I live for Fashion Week. If I could go to just one show (sneak my way in what) I would keel over in awe.

22. The cheese caves at Murray’s Cheese. Because everyone should be as dedicated to cheese as me and these people. And who doesn’t love cheese. Get out if you don’t.

 

There’s plenty more to add to this list as most of these are mostly basic touristy places. But hey, it’s not my real home so I’ll be a tourist if I want. More suggestions are appreciated! Keep an eye out for me, I’ll be dressed like this:

7 thoughts on “New York City Bucket List

  1. Haha yes! I love the picture and all of these ideas. You forgot trapeze school though! And I want to do this too http://www.refinery29.com/best-views-nyc#slide

  2. I hope you like me, because I’m going to be following you around to all the places.

  3. Anything great either begins or ends up in the Big Apple. New York City is my kind of town

    Erik
    http://erikconover.com

  4. Ranger game! Lets GOOOO!!!

  5. Pingback: Inexpensive Adventures | Honesty Time

Be Honest!

