Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Breakfast on the Go – Refrigerator Oats

4 Comments

While I’ve definitely gotten better at remembering to eat in the morning and through the course of the work day, I’m still not doing as well as I should be, especially for breakfast. It’s either empty foods (frozen waffles) or not enough (one, single banana). My issue is mostly the lack of time to make anything that’s filling or worthy enough.

For a few days, I was cooking an egg in the microwave, and while that was working well to keep me satiated until almost lunch, I need to watch my cholesterol for realz, like I’m 80 years old. Ridic. I’ve tried egg whites and egg beaters and stuff, but we always run out too quickly, or I’m disgusted by all of the “extra” ingredients in yellow egg beaters.

Also, mostly, I’m lazy. And cooking the eggs takes up valuable morning “me” time.

…aka litter box cleaning time, mostly, actually.

So I took to the internet to find out more information about a delightful looking breakfast item I had seen on Pinterest: Refrigerator oatmeal.

The idea seems easy enough: oats, flavors, something milky, put it in the fridge, wake up, and take it to go.

And you know what? It actually is that simple.

The only difference is that, surprisingly, most recipes use Greek yogurt and even chia seeds mixed with the oats.

For Friday morning, I made refrigerator oatmeal without the Greek yogurt because I didn’t have any. I also didn’t use chia seeds because, although we do have them in the house, I couldn’t find them.

Friday’s recipe was:

  • Almond Milk
  • Gluten free rolled oats
  • Honey
  • Cinnamon
  • Almond milk
  • Unsweetened applesauce

 

Friday’s result:

  • Eh. Honestly, I don’t like almond milk. I also only added about ¼ cup of oats to probably a cup of almost milk, plus ½ cup of applesauce, so the liquid to oat ratio was way off. A more even ratio is probably better. Also, it just tasted too much like apple juice with oat chunks.

 

For today, I tried a different recipe:

  • Vanilla Greek yogurt
  • Coconut milk (the kind in the carton, not the thick stuff)
  • Gluten free rolled oats
  • Chia seeds
  • Honey
  • Blueberries

fridgeoats

Today’s Results:

  • Awesome. The Greek yogurt makes the whole thing way more flavorful, thick, and creamy. I think the chia seeds also change the texture of the whole shebang a bit, as chia seeds with liquid tend to produce a jelly-like texture. I also crushed the blueberries before I mixed them in the jar, so that overnight they would release more of their flavor.

 

This tastes so good. I’m hooked. And the whole process took 0 extra minutes away from my morning routine. I was full all morning. And it’s in a mason jar, so I have some like, street cred, or whatever the hipster version of that is.

I just whipped up the same recipe, but with fresh cherries instead of blueberries, and agave nectar instead of honey, for tomorrow morning. Hopefully it will be as good and as satisfying.

How do you do breakfast on the go?

Author: Allyssa Ellen

A costumer, a makeup artist, an educator, and a librarian, all rolled up into one convenient, fun-sized package.

4 thoughts on “Breakfast on the Go – Refrigerator Oats

  1. I eat a lot of toast.

    You’re welcome.

  2. Pingback: Homemade Frozen Breakfast Burritos | Honesty Time

Be Honest!

