Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Turkey Meatballs

Leave a comment

So, I haven’t posted any food related things in a while.  Not to fear readers! Today is a post about homemade turkey meatballs!

I know a few posts ago, I interviewed Justin about SDCC and his collection.  Well, of course we talked through his seemingly amazing vacation, and of course I volunteered to make him food for when he landed.  So that being said, Monday night I went to pick him up from the airport with homemade turkey meatball sandwiches with homemade sauce.  He is spoiled, I know.
Here is the recipe that I used:
Turkey Meatballs
 1lb of ground turkey
12 tbpsn of plain breadcrumbs (TIP: I add the seasoning myself. You can always buy seasoned breadcrumbs and skip the extra steps.  I just think it tastes better to add your own spices)
Parmesan Cheese
Tbsn Parsley and Oregano
tspn of garlic and onion powder
1 egg
Pinch of red pepper flakes
Salt and Pepper
Handful of water
Directions
In a medium to large sized bowl, place your rinsed(optional) ground turkey.
Add breadcrumbs.  Then add enough parm cheese to cover the entire top of the ground turkey.
Start to add all of your spices.  You can always add more of less of any one of these ingredients.  It truly depends on your taste buds or I like referring to them as taste bros.  I only add a dash of red pepper flakes because I don’t want them too spicy.
Then crack your egg into the mixture.
It will look like a huge mess, but before you mix it, place your hands together in a cupping like form and run them under some water to add to the mixture.
This is the worst part…Use your hands to incorporate all ingredients together.
Once this is done, I sprayed a pan with a bit of Pam so the turkey meatballs would not stick.  Then take your mixture and place a bowl of water next to your bowl.  Before you start rolling dip your hands in water, then grab the meat and form them into decent sized ball shapes.  Place on pan and bake in a 350 degree oven for 10-15 minutes.  When they come out of the oven, place them into homemade or whatever sauce you have for about 20 mins to get all the flavor into your sauce.  Then viola…put them on a roll, eat them plain, or pair them with your favorite pasta.
Author: AmandaMarie

I am a 2011 graduate of Drew University with a Bachelor's Degree in Art History with a minor in Art. I have taken wide-range of art courses, which include 2D design, 3D design, Drawing, Ceramic Sculpture, Photography (both black and white and digital), Computer Graphics, and printmaking (intaglio). I have had prior black and white photography experience from three years of classes in high school as well. I hope that this blog will be a way for me to showcase my work to various people and future clients.

Be Honest!

