Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Time for a Change?

1 Comment

Recently, the place I’ve been working at part-time has decided to hire me more full-time. It’s more or less abbreviated hours from a 9-5, Monday through Friday position, but eventually full-time once I’m done with more training. It’s definitely not a job that would lead to a full on career in something I’m interested in doing, but I keep telling myself it’s good for my resume, and obviously I’ll take some more money than what I was making. Of course, just as I’ve committed myself to more time there and started the training process, a curious situation has come about. I’ve been offered a living space in Washington D.C. Now, I don’t have a job there and I haven’t been actively looking in or around that area…I’ve been so discouraged because I’ve thought, well, if I can’t find anything in New York City, the land of opportunity, what would give me any idea that I would get something I want to do in D.C.? So now, I’m struggling with what to do. I’m so terribly awkward and scared of what to say to my boss should I actually get a job in D.C. just a short time after fully committing myself to this job in New Jersey and going through all this training. Unfortunately, there is no one else in our office to take my job should I leave, which would mean someone else being hired and trained in a short amount of time. I know things like this happen all the time, but I’ve never experienced it myself in an office. And Washington D.C. is not the city I ever pictured myself in, but I feel like a change of scenery might be good for me, if only for a short time. I’ve always liked visiting and being super touristy, but I don’t know much about the city otherwise, so I’m also looking for some input on what life is like living there. Does anyone have suggestions/comments/input/advice for me? I’m not sure what to do!

One thought on “Time for a Change?

  1. I think moving to DC could be an awesome opportunity for you. You get to test out the city before finding a job to see if you like it there, while having the safety net of living with your cousin. Your current boss will figure out what to do if you leave…just like we were telling Kaely, you shouldn’t worry about that (I know that’s easier said than done).

    Plus, your cousin has a puppy.

Be Honest!

