Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Favorite Literary Character. Duh.

2 Comments

Who is your favorite literary character of all time?

The other day, Lori and I were chatting about Honesty Time things and she said “Our blog is basically a Harry Potter blog anyway.”

Truth.

So, while I love digging into a tried and true classic (hello, Frodo, hello Mr. Darcy), or re-reading the adventures of Gregory Maguire’s version of Oz, or crushing on Edward Bloom, it’s obvious that my answer here is Harry Potter.

Of course, I could have chosen any character from the book, but I’m sticking with our main protagonist.

Out of every character out there, from the canon to the current, I feel that Harry will never leave me.

I’ve said it many times before, but he and I grew up together. Even though he and I went through a rough patch during Order of the Phoenix (oh my god he was so annoying), his level of growth and change was the stuff of legends. It enabled him to beat the odds to overcome a wizard world-dominating super snake-face monster.

Harry started out as clueless about the world as, and let’s go with the Clueless theme here, Cher was about Christian’s sexuality.

Somehow, he rose above it all to become both powerful and confident. Confidence is key. You know what else is?

best-friendsharrypotter

Friendship. Harry is a good friendship role model to me because not only did his friendships grow stronger over the years, but he also allowed many new friendships to blossom, even through adversity. Harry was never a huge fan of Neville and Luna, but they became key players in the later years, because Harry let them in. I like that. Friendship is about quality and not quantity, but you’ll never get either unless you let others in. Thanks for confirming that, Harry.

He’s a pretty good role model for life.

And we look alike.

photo

Author: Allyssa Ellen

A costumer, a makeup artist, an educator, and a librarian, all rolled up into one convenient, fun-sized package.

2 thoughts on “Favorite Literary Character. Duh.

  1. Reblogged this on Honesty Time and commented:

    In honor of starting library school today, which already included discussions on favorite book memory, here is my favorite literary character!

  2. Pingback: Favorite Character Revisited – Truths with Lori and Allyssa

Be Honest!

