Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Favorite Disney Memory

3 Comments

I have been to Disney World exactly seven times in my life, including one time when I was just a little baby. How am I supposed to choose just one memory from all of those trips? I started looking through some pictures from my trips for inspiration, and one theme seemed to stick out above the rest.

It rains in Florida. A lot.

Seriously, every single time I went to Disney World that I can remember, it rained. And almost every time it rained, ponchos were procured.

Is there anywhere else in the world, besides Disney or another amusement park, where it is socially acceptable (even expected) to cover yourself in a glorified plastic bag? And why is it so hilarious every single time?

I have so many memories of running through Disney in the pouring rain. I remember eating croissants in the rain. I remember meeting Chip and Dale in the rain. I remember sliding around Germany and England in Epcot wearing flip flops in the rain. I remember meeting Aladdin and Jasmine in Morocco in Epcot in the rain. I remember being trapped in the Orlando airport during my senior trip to Disney in high school, where it not only rained, but hurricaned.

What I’m saying is, so many of my Disney World memories happened during inclement weather, and, usually, it only made that experience more fun.

Here are a few of the pictures I could find of my rainy days in Disney World:

 

And, since I couldn’t find any more pictures even though I know I have a million of them somewhere, here’s a picture of us wearing ponchos that one time I went to Orlando and just went to Universal (it’s not Disney, but it’s still magical):

 

Author: Lori

Lori is a writer living and working in New Jersey. Her greatest literary influences are Dr. Seuss, JK Rowling, and Harriet the Spy.

3 thoughts on “Favorite Disney Memory

  1. I would have preferred it if you used the Curious George and Man in the Yellow Hat picture, as we are in rain coats…but I appreciate you keeping with the poncho theme, even if it is quite possibly the worst picture taken of me ever. My eyes are a problem.

    • You know, I actually went into my photos looking for the Curious George picture, but I found the poncho one first. We all look a mess.

  2. If anyone ever needs to go for a run at night, bring me, because clearly I’m a reflector.

Be Honest!

