Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Rainy Day Movies

Leave a comment

What’s your favorite rainy day movie?

I have a very particular list of movies that I watch on lonely days, sad days, rainy days, gloomy days, I just moved and I’m all alone with no cable days, etc.

1. Up

Obviously this makes the list. It’s the #1 animated film for crying. It has a talking dog, a happy ending, and a cranky old man that reminds me of me. It checks all of the boxes.

2. 27 Dresses

Nothing improves a gloomy day like singing all of the wrong words to “Benny and the Jets” and thinking about wedding dresses. Also, James Marsden.

 

3 Baby Mama

Nothing makes me smile quite like Amy Poehler and Tina Fey being complete goofballs with each other. A friend of mine used to buy 6 layer taco dip every week and then we would sit in his room and eat dip and watch Baby Mama on a regular basis. So now I associate Baby Mama with stress relief.

Baby-Mama-Ooh-ooh

 

4 The Great Mouse Detective

They just don’t make ‘em like this anymore. No, really. A classic illustrated Disney film where the mice get totally, upside down wasted just can’t exist anymore. What a shame.

 

5 Despicable Me 1 & 2

How do these movies make a rainy day better? Uhh… how do they not? Honestly.

miniongifs

 

6 Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs 1 & 2

The other night, I watched the first two episodes American Horror Story. I had no idea how I was going to sleep after watching Twisty the clown* for 2 hours. This was my solution. And it was perfect.

Foodimals made me smile. Smiling makes me happy.

 

7 Harry Potter marathon

This past weekend, I was very stressed about work and the fact that in 4 days, I had been at the emergency animal hospital with Licorice 3 times. Once at 2am. Bless the fact that Harry Potter was on TV all day, every day, because it made everything feel better.

 

So as you can see, I am clearly not an adult. But serious movies don’t cheer me up, and they cannot make me giggle like a small child. After all, laughter is the best medicine.

What movies do you watch on rainy or down in the dumps days?

 

 

 

* Did you honestly think I’d link to a picture of that damn clown? Enjoy watching NPH as Steve instead.

Author: Allyssa Ellen

A costumer, a makeup artist, an educator, and a librarian, all rolled up into one convenient, fun-sized package.

Be Honest!

