Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Favorite Villains

2 Comments

Who is your favorite fictional villain? 

This is a loaded question.  How do you choose just one?!  I had every intention of writing and preparing this post early, but ultimately I struggled with a final decision.  There are simply just way too many.  Here lies my major dilemma.  My first thought was obviously Lord Voldemort.  Without “he who must not be named,” our beloved Harry Potter tale would simply not exist.  He is what drives the story.  Voldemort makes the books so captivating and enjoyable.  He is a calculated and intelligent villain who has a final vision and intends on fulfilling said plan no matter what the cost.  However, looking back, I realized that fellow bro Allyssa had chosen him for this prompt.  I clearly agree with her 100% and she couldn’t have explained him any better.  If you would like to be reminded of how perfectly she described him as a villain, here is the link.  Does it surprise you readers that we both chose him? Given the opportunity, I am sure all of us would have.

I clearly cannot pick just one.  Maybe that is why I was having such difficulty.  I managed to narrow it down to 2, so here we go.

The Hound-Game of Thrones

“No, it gives me joy to kill people.”

For those of you who are fans of this series, I am sure you understand this choice.  Towering easily over 6 feet tall, The Hound rides a massive black stallion who is just as aggressive and terrifying as the man mounted on top.  He is a terrifying and brutal man who is capable of inflicting pain to some of his strongest and most fierce opponents.  The Hound, aka Sandor Clegane, is easily spotted on battle fields because of his recognizable helm which is in the shape of a vicious dog.  His face, even more gruesome underneath, is covered with burns due to The Mountain, who just so happens to be his brother, shoving his face into a brazier as a child.

While The Hound is seemingly nothing but a killing machine, it is revealed that he indeed does have a bit of a soft spot.  He is one of my favorites because of his complexity.  For me, it is difficult to categorize him.  While some choose to continue to see him as strictly a villain, I see him more as someone who does what he needs to in order to survive in a world where trust is extremely hard to come by.  Although his moral compass does not always point north, as both a viewer and a reader, I could not wait to see the messes he got himself into and how he managed to get himself out.

 

Hades-Disney’s Hercules

Hades_holding_a_skull_pacifier_before_attempting_to_put_it_into_Baby_Hercules'_mouth

“Names Hades, Lord of the dead. How ya doin?”

I have always found Greek mythology fascinating and have taken a few classes related to this subject.  I always loved the reading material so I had to go with Hades, Zeus’ brother and the ruler of the underworld.  He embodies the word villain.  Physically he is threatening with those pointed teeth, sharp features, and fire for hair!  To me, Hades is one of the most ruthless of Disney’s villains caring for only his well being.  He will go above and beyond to achieve his goals, even if that means killing his own nephew to rule over all of the gods in Mount Olympus.  He is a meticulous planner, and has a short and fiery temper causing him to go into fits of destructive rage which is incredibly intimidating.  The most dangerous quality of Hades is in his ability to be a master manipulator who can cut deals with anyone he chooses.

Believe it or not, I recently watched Hercules, which is why I chose Hades.  I realized how funny and clever Hades was in my adult age.  His overall persona actually made me laugh.  He can be terrifying in his fits of rage, which often leaves a trail of fiery destruction wherever he may be.  However, there is something about him that you cannot help but love.

 

Author: AmandaMarie

I am a 2011 graduate of Drew University with a Bachelor's Degree in Art History with a minor in Art. I have taken wide-range of art courses, which include 2D design, 3D design, Drawing, Ceramic Sculpture, Photography (both black and white and digital), Computer Graphics, and printmaking (intaglio). I have had prior black and white photography experience from three years of classes in high school as well. I hope that this blog will be a way for me to showcase my work to various people and future clients.

2 thoughts on “Favorite Villains

  1. Who would you choose as your favourite goodie though?

    • Also tough lol. Maybe hercules, because of the whole love of mythology. Or maybe i would even choose Captain America!

Be Honest!

