Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Red Velvet S’mores Cupcakes

1 Comment

Ladies and gentlemen, I have done it. I have reached the pinnacle of baking and created my personal masterpiece: the red velvet s’mores cupcakes.

Let me explain how this cupcake came to be. A couple weeks ago, I made chocolate cupcakes and brought them into work for our other blog, Food365 (seamless self-promotion, ohhh yeah). My friend and coworker had just put in his two weeks notice that day, so I told him that, on his last day, I would have to make “some more cupcakes.” And he immediately said “s’mores cupcakes?” So I decided that it must be done. Then, my other friend and coworker also put in her notice (it was a sad week), and her favorite type of cupcake is red velvet. Since her last day was Friday and his last day was Monday, I decided to combine their cupcakes into one super cupcake.

And the results were glorious.

These were my ingredients (not pictured: butter). Yes, I used boxed cake. I mean, I love my coworkers, but not enough to make them cake from scratch. I’m not crazy.

For the graham cracker crust, I crushed up graham crackers and mixed it with melted butter, then put it in the bottom of the cupcake holder thingies (that’s a technical term).

Then I just poured the cake batter in like I would for normal cupcakes. Because of the graham cracker crust, there was a bunch of cake batter leftover. So I just made some regular red velvet cupcakes that I kept for myself.

My next steps, none of which I took pictures of for someone reason were as follows:

  • Bake cake according to the box.
  • Let cool.
  • Scoop out a little bit of cake from every cupcake.
  • Cut marshmallows in half (alternatively: buy smaller marshmallows or use fluff).
  • Shove half a marshmallow into each cupcake.
  • Ice with chocolate frosting.
  • Top with crumbled graham crackers and Teddy Grahams.

And they came out really, really good:

I cut one in half so you could see the inside, but it kind of fell apart:

These cupcakes were so good. A couple of my coworkers ate two or three of them. I was told these were the best cupcakes they’d ever had. I mean, I thought they would be good, but I was surprised by how much people actually liked them, seeing as how I totally just made up the recipe.

I’m really happy with these, and I think everyone should try them. And it doesn’t hurt that they are pretty damn cute too!

 

 

Author: Lori

Lori is a writer living and working in New Jersey. Her greatest literary influences are Dr. Seuss, JK Rowling, and Harriet the Spy.

One thought on “Red Velvet S’mores Cupcakes

  1. Oh my ❤ that looks amazingly delicious!!

Be Honest!

