Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

The Great Gilmore Girls Binge

Leave a comment

First, in order for you to properly be in the mood for this post, you have to click this link and watch Jessie Mueller sing Carole King’s “Where You Lead” aka the theme song for Gilmore Girls.

http://www.buzzfeed.com/ericafutterman/gilmore-girls-jessie-mueller-carole-king

Ok? Ready? Great.

So, I did that thing that a lot of other people did this October. I binge watched Gilmore Girls to an incredible extreme. I was still not too crazy with theatre scheduling and thus I would stay up until 3am watching episodes of the show.

Believe it or not, prior to this binge, I had only seen maybe 2 or 3 episodes of the show? I kind of didn’t get it. Or care.

Now older and wiser and crazier, I totally identify with Lorelai and love her fast talking nature. Emily Gilmore reminds me of my mom. And I am finally old enough to hate all of Rory’s boyfriends.

YOU HEARD ME. Even Dean. But ESPECIALLY Jess.

Sorry not sorry, everyone who is obsessed with one or all of Rory’s boyfriends, but those guys set woman-kind back something like 20 years. Dean and Jess were possessive and fighting over her like an object. They didn’t trust her. They made her apologize for things she had not done wrong. They emotionally abused her, basically. And Logan? Yikes. He was a mess. He was never right for Rory. I don’t know why that lasted so long.

My main love of the show?

Luke Danes.

When season 6 ended, I had to take a hiatus from my binge because I was so mad at Lorelai. I wanted to go back in time, jump into the TV, and propose to Luke Danes myself.

Luke Danes is everything. A good father. An amazing cook. A handy man. Flannel wearer extraordinaire. A supporter of dreams. Someone who puts up with terrible humor and sarcasm. All the things I could use.

Here are all of the emotions I felt while watching Gilmore Girls, as told by GIFs, of course.

When you first start watching GG:

ggjump

 

During the first season when you’re still unsure about this whole thing:

ggunsure

When someone interrupts your viewing experience:

qqquiet

 

Every single time you see Kirk:

ggstupid

 

When someone asks what you did all day, and you don’t want to admit you never got out of your PJs and watched an entire season:

ggshrug

And then suddenly, it’s all over…

ggending ggwallow

 

GIF credit to Vulture.com, gilmored.tumblr.com, itsthegilmoregirls.tumblr.com

Author: Allyssa Ellen

A costumer, a makeup artist, an educator, and a librarian, all rolled up into one convenient, fun-sized package.

Be Honest!

