Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

My Broadway To-Do List

1 Comment

I went to a pre-audition meeting at the high school where I do costumes tonight. It was just like coming home. That wonderful warm, fuzzy feeling that you associate with going to your childhood home for special occasions is always present at that school. I sat with the director and music director and we caught up a bit while the kids learned a dance sequence.

As usual, the music director and I always ask the director about what shows he’s seen lately and what he recommends. That got me thinking of my extensive laundry list of shows I would love to see. The list never ends. Here are some of the shows that top my list of “Want to see soon!”

Side Show.

Duh. I’m obsessed. I have fallen deeply and madly in love with the original production from the 90s. I know I’ve mentioned it before. I love it for all of quirks and misgivings, and I know I will love the new version the same way. I will love them as entirely separate productions. I hear the cast is phenomenal and I know that the visuals of the show are vastly changed, updated, and bedazzled. I already know about most of the changes to the script and score, and while I’m not totally pleased, I really want to see it in action. New Side Show will never replace OG Side Show. Side Show, if you will, will never leave me.

The Book of Mormon.

GUESS WHO STILL HASN’T PEED THEIR PANTS LAUGHING AT THE EUGENE O’NEILL THEATRE WHILE WATCHING THIS SHOW? Me. It’s me. (It’s meeeeeeeeeeeee) It is so ridiculously expensive to try to find tickets for this show. Every now and then I get an email for a deal, but it’s always when my schedule is too packed to drop everything and run to the city to see the show. But maybe I should change my priorities because, dude, Book of Mormon.

Cabaret.

When I was a senior in high school, we did Cabaret. It was the coolest show I’ve ever done. I was a telephone girl and I wore a sassy pink silk robe. Ever since, I’ve always wanted to see a professional production of the show. Well, it’s back. And now Emma Stone is in it. Obviously Alan Cumming is a big reason to see the show, but I’m certain that Emma Stone as Sally Bowles is not to be missed. Also, it basically takes place inside the Kit Kat Klub. Oh Studio 54, you are just too cool.

On The Town.

Tonight, we had a massive fan girling discussion over the dancing in this show. I have heard great things, but to hear my director kind of lose his mind and start almost literally gushing about the dancing and talent in this show solidified my need to experience On The Town. Jay Armstrong Johnson is in it, and I saw him in Sweeney Todd last winter and loved him, so I’d adore seeing him again. Also Jackie Hoffman has always cracked me up in everything I’ve seen her in (Xanadu and The Addams Family), so I’d make the trip for her too.

The Elephant Man.

I don’t actually know much about the course of the plot of this show, but I of course know the basic premise. It’s based on the real life story of Joseph Merrick. I guess if my love for Side Show and AHS: Freak Show haven’t given it away, for some reason, I love stories of the people who are considered “other” in our world. These characters involved in such shows often reveal so much humanity and heart that other characters just can’t fathom. Also, Bradley Cooper. Sometimes, a big name can bring people to the theater in droves, and well, it doesn’t hurt.

A Gentleman’s Guide to Love and Murder.

Still haven’t seen this either. GGTLAM was huge at the Tony Awards this past season, and for what I understand is good reason. It’s funny, it’s witty, the talent is as clever as the story, the costumes rock my world, and one man plays EIGHT different roles in the same show. Outstanding.

Disenchanted!

Technically off-broadway, but whatever. This one is closing at the end of January, but I’d really love to get some time to go see it. This new musical is everything I love – fairy tales turned on their butts. I mean, come on, I took a class on fairy tales in college. I love to hear spins on the classic tales, and I love it even more so when I’m promised wit and humor in regards to the original stories versus the mega-consumed, consumer driven princesses of today’s theme parks. Also, the website holds a special place in my heart, as it features the original fairy tales for the characters. Not so cutesy now, eh famous cartoon movie characters? http://www.disenchantedmusical.com/

I also recommend the shows Once and Pippin to anyone who hasn’t seen them. I saw both of them already, but with both shows closing so soon into the New Year, I just felt like giving them some extra love. Go see Pippin if you want to experience a high-flying spectacle of an update to the classic Schwartz score. Once is for anyone who loves music and loves to see people experiencing and living their music in a story that involves being quietly and completely absorbed and taken into a world of music and love, and love for music. Go see both if you love theatre and want to be cultured. Honestly.

There are obviously a lot more shows that I want to experience, but these are at the top of my list currently. So, who wants to come?

Also, is anyone else excited for Peter Pan Live next week on TV? I am. I hope someone will watch it with me!

(mmmm, dem pirates)

Author: Allyssa Ellen

A costumer, a makeup artist, an educator, and a librarian, all rolled up into one convenient, fun-sized package.

One thought on “My Broadway To-Do List

  1. I want to see Gentleman’s Guide soooooo baddddd!!!! Also, we all have to see Aladdin together. Sing-a-long, obvs.

Be Honest!

