Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Healthy Eating

Leave a comment

So, I didn’t realize that I gave myself two things to write about today.  Today is obviously my turn on Honesty Time, but I didn’t realize Parfait day was today as well…whoops.  Sometimes I am a cotton headed ninny muggins.

I figured that now would be as good of a time as any to ask our fellow readers for some lovely advice on eating clean/eating better in general.  I do try to eat as best as I possibly can.  I keep a food diary and I am conscious of how many calories I eat daily.  I just feel as though I need to eat better overall and make better choices, especially since I work so hard at the gym each week.  I don’t want to feel as though I am being counterproductive to the work I am putting in 3 days a week.

I really am intrigued by this whole clean eating deal, so much so,  I actually did try clean eating for a week.  Here are some of the issues I had and why I stopped.

1. Reading labels is THE WORST

  • It seems like it is a necessary task for clean eating.  It is time consuming and the last thing I want to do is spend more time in the grocery store

2. Finding food is TOUGH

  • Is this clean? Maybe? I mean, it has to be right? What could be so bad about all of these natural sounding ingredients?  Maybe I should google it.  This was my internal struggle in the grocery store.

3. I only have one aisle in my local supermarket.

  • Where I live, I don’t have a Trader Joe’s, or a Whole Foods, or even a Kings.  It is extremely difficult to find food when you are restricted to one, maybe 1 1/2 aisles, especially when they don’t even restock it half of the time

4. A lot of the food I have tried tastes like I am eating cardboard

  • Does it have to be tasteless?  Like I said a lot of the “clean food” I have tried really takes forever to chew and it tastes awful, but some of it isn’t quite bad.  I really like apple cinnamon rice cakes, some of the kashi products are fantastic, and steel cut oatmeal is one of my favorite things.

5. I live at home…with my mom…who cooks every day.

  • How can you say no to an Italian mother’s dinner?  This is a trick question because you can’t and you don’t.

Maybe there is an alternative to eating clean that could work given my lack of grocery stores?  Is there just a way to slowly start eating better?  Anybody have any advice?

Author: AmandaMarie

I am a 2011 graduate of Drew University with a Bachelor's Degree in Art History with a minor in Art. I have taken wide-range of art courses, which include 2D design, 3D design, Drawing, Ceramic Sculpture, Photography (both black and white and digital), Computer Graphics, and printmaking (intaglio). I have had prior black and white photography experience from three years of classes in high school as well. I hope that this blog will be a way for me to showcase my work to various people and future clients.

Be Honest!

