Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Happy Almost New Year

2 Comments

And just like that it’s done. Christmas is over. Though for many people it’s felt like it’s dragged on for a long, long time…that’s what we get for commercializing our holidays!

Can you believe by this time next week we’ll already be in 2015? I can’t. To be honest, I’m not one for liking to celebrate New Years. In the past I’ve done the whole resolution thing, but this year I’m going to pass on that. I don’t want to feel like I’m setting goals or deadlines for myself. Rather, I’m just going to look forward to things and try to be excited for that. Perhaps make some lifestyle changes. I’ve had a hard time sticking to resolutions, so here’s what I’m looking forward to in 2015:

1. Working out more. About 2-3 ago (pre-wave of injuries and surgery), I was running almost every day and was about as fit as I had ever been. I want to get back to feeling that way, and fitting into those clothes again. I dislike running, but I’ve often thought about running 10ks and how it feels to complete those, and how I want to feel that kind of accomplishment. I dunno. Perhaps I’ll see myself at a few 5ks this year instead.

2. Baseball! Duh. The countdown to Spring Training is on! While I’m enjoying hockey season at the moment, baseball is my first love and I’m still waiting for the Yankees to make some more moves. And while nothing is the same without Derek anymore (sob) I’m still going to follow the team 110%. This year, it’s my goal to get to more games with friends.

3. Being employed for real. The job I have isn’t cutting it. While it’s experience and some money, I still need a real, full-time job. I think every year I look, I get better at the search, but not with anything past sending in my resume. This is the year of the job. I need something better.

4. Being even more financially responsible. I’m pretty good with managing my money, I think. But I need to be a little bit better with the long-term saving and not just the short-term saving. Hopefully getting a job will help with that! A part of my short-term saving is for baseball games, obviously.

5. Being a better friend. I’m going to try to see friends more often. Everyone is kind of everywhere, but that makes it kind of an adventure for me to get myself to wherever they all live. And if it’s not that, I want to be better at just dropping them a line, or sending them a card in the mail. Everyone likes getting mail. You want to know that the people you were close with at other times in your life are still there and haven’t completely disappeared because you’re living an adult life. Your friends are a big part of who you are and it’s important to maintain those relationships.

 

Okay. That’s all I got. Harry Potter Weekend starts today. Time to dig into Christmas leftovers for food coma round 2. See you in 2015!

 

Gif from giphy.com.

2 thoughts on “Happy Almost New Year

  1. Pingback: Fibro Resolutions for 2015 | Honesty Time

  2. Pingback: The Great Journaling Project of 2015 | Honesty Time

Be Honest!

