Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Fibro Resolutions for 2015

2 Comments

I’m not one of those people to make resolutions. Like Rachel, mine are pretty similar every year: Get back into shape, get a job, those sorts of things. It is pointless for me to make the same list every year. So, like Rack did, I’m going to go a different route.

Instead, this year, I’m thinking about the things I have done, not done, could do better for my body and my fibromyalgia. I hate that my CFS/FMS is such a big part of my life, but ignoring it won’t make it any better, and staying silent only leads to people telling me to “get better soon!”

So here are my fibromyalgia resolutions for the New Year

  1. Don’t get mad at people for not understanding. Right up there I indicated that I get frustrated when people tell me to “get better!” It makes me so mad, sometimes. I always appreciate the sentiment of well wishes, don’t get me wrong. The frustration of knowing that I’m not going to get better, versus when I have a cold and I will get better, is maddening. On the other hand, I don’t want to derail things by turning around and saying “No, you misunderstood. There’s no cure. I’ll never get better.” That’s just rude. So perhaps I need to just accept it and say thank you, and think that, maybe just for this moment, there is a small possibility of getting better. Positivity is better than the alternative.
  2. Say “No” to Jobs with Overlapping Schedules. I decided that I will no longer accept costuming positions that overlap. I do it every year. One show that runs the first weekend of March. One show that runs the 3rd weekend of March. It’s possible to costume them all, sure. But why? Why am I doing this to myself? After high school musical season is over, I will no longer accept jobs that have less than a month between them. The stress is bad for my sleep cycle. The late nights are obviously bad for my CFS. The bag lady habits that I get when trying to carry millions of things to 3 different theaters is bad for all of my muscles. Enough. I will enjoy it more if I can just relish in one show at a time. And with fibro, if you don’t love what you do, it’s not worth it.
  3. Do some brain boosting. My fibro fog has been very bad lately. I have trouble wording with words. The things made of letters. My memory is better some days than others. I love logic grid puzzles, so maybe I should go back to doing those everyday to get my brain working. Has anyone tried those sites like Luminosity? Does it help or is it just entertaining? Or both? Any other suggestions for brain boosting?
  4. Try the Whole 30 again. I said I would. I should. I know it takes longer to work for some people, so it might work better if I commit to a longer time frame. I already figured out that sugar seems to increase inflammation in me, which is a FMS nightmare. Fibro folks, any special diets you’re on? Does it help? Does anybody want to Whole 30 with me? Yes, I made it into a verb.
  5. Do things one step at a time. I did this while baking Christmas cookies this year. Typically, I make all of the dough and then try to bake as many cookies as I can all in one day. This year, I broke it up by making one batch of dough, and calling it a night. Then I baked that dough the next day. Called it a night. Yes, it takes longer but I was in less pain and this method gave me more time to do other holiday preparations at my leisure as well. I should adopt this method for everything I do: cleaning, sewing projects, other house and pet chores, etc.

So those are my fibro resolutions. It’s a little different from typical New Year’s lists, but everyone is different.

Next time I check in, it will be a New Year! So I hope everyone has fun celebrating. Whether you make new goals or look forward to new things in the year to come or not, I hope this is the start of the beginning of your best year yet.

Author: Allyssa Ellen

A costumer, a makeup artist, an educator, and a librarian, all rolled up into one convenient, fun-sized package.

2 thoughts on “Fibro Resolutions for 2015

  1. Pingback: The Great Journaling Project of 2015 | Honesty Time

  2. Pingback: One of those New Year Posts | Truths with Lori and Allyssa

Be Honest!

