Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

The Great Journaling Project of 2015

1 Comment

Happy New Year, my friends. I hope everyone’s New Year’s Eve was fun and safe.

This post, and this idea, is inspired by a few different people and ideas.

Like Rachel and Allyssa, I don’t want to set traditional New Year’s Resolutions for myself. I’m all for setting goals in general. And I totally understand the whole “new year, new attitude” mentality, but actual resolutions just aren’t for me. However, this year I’m giving myself a challenge.

I was talking recently to a friend of mine who also fancies himself a writer, albeit in a different way than me. He was telling me about how, recently, he’s been journaling every morning before work. He said he’s finding it to be a great way to clear his head before the day, and it also helps his creativity.

Remember in school when English teachers would assign you to “free write?” You would just write whatever you wanted to for whatever time the teacher allotted. It didn’t matter, as long as you didn’t stop writing. This was always my favorite assignment. It reminds me of what my friend is doing.

I also had a conversation with another friend who is into CrossFit. She was telling me how having a competition to look forward to really pushes her to work harder and challenges her to reach steeper goals, and how this mentality can be applied to other aspects of life.

I decided to combine these idea to give myself a challenge, of the writing variety.

Despite what my “This Week in My Life” posts may lead you to believe, I don’t actually write that much. Maybe I do compared to other people, but not compared to how much I used to write when I was younger. Writing has always been an outlet for me. I’m not a good talker. Writing is how I work stuff out. It’s how I clear my head. It’s cathartic. I learned this about myself when I was 8 years old, and it hasn’t changed.

The problem is, I don’t write like I used to. I can’t pinpoint a reason why, but I can tell you that it’s messing with my head. I haven’t been sleeping well recently, and I think it’s because I spend all day sitting in front of a computer, then I come home and I sit in front of my computer or my phone or my TV. Sometimes all three at once. It’s not good. It’s not healthy. And it needs to stop. I close my eyes to go to sleep, but I can’t shut my brain off. So, maybe, what if, instead of writing every morning like my friend, I write every night before I go to sleep? I journal by hand in notebooks, not on the computer. I know that writing calms me down, so why not try to make it a more daily habit?

So I’m not giving myself a New Year’s Resolution, I’m giving myself an assignment. I’m combining the ideas of my friends into my challenge for 2015: every day, for at least the next 365 days, I’m going to write. Listen, I know I’m going to miss some days here and there. But, generally, I’m going to write as often as possible. I bought this book, full of prompts and ideas. I’m going to look at this like a “Do Now” notebook from school. Did anyone else have those? Every day, you would walk into class and there would be a prompt on the board that you had to respond to in your notebook. I’m going to do that. And on days when I don’t like the prompt or I have something else to say, I’ll do a free write or whatever. I’m not making any rules here besides this one: write.

I think I might post updates on here every once in a while, just to further incentivize myself. If other people are keeping track of my progress, maybe I’ll actually keep it up.

I’m going to start this today. Anyone want to do it with me?

Author: Lori

Lori is a writer living and working in New Jersey. Her greatest literary influences are Dr. Seuss, JK Rowling, and Harriet the Spy.

One thought on “The Great Journaling Project of 2015

  1. Pingback: The Great Journaling Project: February Update | Honesty Time

Be Honest!

