Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Thoughts?

4 Comments

Over the last couple of months, I have really been considering going back to school to get a Masters degree.  There are quite a few dilemmas that I have thought of.  What do I go back for?  Can I really work and go to school at the same time?  Would I be able to succeed with an online based program and graduate?  And probably the scariest one…Will getting my masters in some form of computer based art lead me to a real job opportunity or just more debt?

Right around November, I actually started looking into multiple colleges and universities that have online programs.  I know for a fact I would have to do an online program because I need to work, and because I can’t see paying for room and board at this point (especially being 25 and “real” jobless).  I have called and inquired about Full Sail’s Media and Design program, and have done pretty extensive research on The Academy of Art’s Graphic Design program, as well as SCAD (Savannah College of Art and Design) graphic design program.  All three have online programs that would definitely interest me, however SCAD definitely stands alone among the others.  It seems like I can get more information about what they offer and because of that I was able to print the course catalog and design a mock schedule for myself.  All of the classes seem amazing and I am thinking of calling someone to get even further information.   What do you guys think? Should I go for it?

Author: AmandaMarie

I am a 2011 graduate of Drew University with a Bachelor's Degree in Art History with a minor in Art. I have taken wide-range of art courses, which include 2D design, 3D design, Drawing, Ceramic Sculpture, Photography (both black and white and digital), Computer Graphics, and printmaking (intaglio). I have had prior black and white photography experience from three years of classes in high school as well. I hope that this blog will be a way for me to showcase my work to various people and future clients.

4 thoughts on “Thoughts?

  1. Yes, do it. If it’s something that interests you and can further your career, you should totally take the risk. Hopefully whatever money you have to spend or sacrifices you have to make now will pay off when you are working in a field you enjoy. As Cory and Shawn taught us in Boy Meets World: “Risk, risk, risk…reward, reward, reward.”

  2. If you will enjoy it, if it will make you happy, and if you can learn more about the things you really love, there’s not much to lose. I say go for it and see what doors open up for you. I think it’s a good way to get you back into the field you’re actually interested in.

    • Thanks guys! I actually spent a good portion so the day looking into different progams and even called a couple of schools. Hopefully, one of the programs will work out 🙂

  3. I think that if you believe that you can succeed, you should do it. Anything that could improve your quality of life, you should take a shot at. There are always tons of graphic artist jobs listed. As you mentioned, price and debt will be the greatest limiting factors for you.

    Personally, I would avoid school altogether and pickup photoshop and illustrator and indesign on your own time on YouTube tutorials and other such site that offer lots of instructional how to videos. I know for a fact that your talent won’t hold you back because you’re one of the most talented, and greatest people I’ve ever had the pleasure of being with in my life. I believe in you and support you.

Be Honest!

