Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Quotes You Should Know

Leave a comment

I collect quotes. I have a notebook full of quotes from books, movies, TV shows, songs, whatever. I’ve been writing down quotes since I was 14 or 15. I’m not sure if this is a thing many people know about me. Not because it’s a secret, but because I just don’t advertise it.

Anyway, I decided that today I’m going to share some quotes with you. Mostly because I can’t think of anything else to write, so I’m letting other people do the work.

I didn’t pick a specific theme. I just opened random pages of my quote notebook, then picked a quote from that page to share with you.

“Decide what to be and go be it.” – The Avett Brothers (“Head Full of Doubt/Road Full of Promise”)

“A done something is better than a perfect nothing.” – Rossi Fox

“Because, ultimately, isn’t your belief in human nature a perfect reflection of your own nature? If I expected the best from people, wouldn’t I have to expect the best from myself?” – David Levithan (Love is the Higher Law)

“I’m not saying that everything is survivable. Just that everything except the last thing is.” – John Green (Papertowns)

“But what if Shakespeare – and Hamlet – were asking the wrong question? What if the real question is not whether to be, but how to be?” – Gayle Forman (Just One Day)

“Sure, I can talk like you, but I choose not to. It’s like art, you know? Picasso had to prove to the world he can paint the right way before he goes putting both eyes on one side of a face, and noses stickin’ outta kneecaps and stuff. See, if you paint wrong because that’s the best you can do, you just a chump. But you do it because you want to? Then you’re an artist.” – Neal Shusterman (Unwind)

“Being in a relationship, that’s something you choose. Being friends, that’s just something you are.” – David Levithan & John Green (Will Grayson, Will Grayson)

“I hope you read some fine books and kiss someone who thinks you’re wonderful.” – Neil Gaiman

“Sarcastic people tend to be marshmallows underneath the armor.” – Stephen King (11/23/63)

“Even under the best of circumstances, there’s just something so damn tragic about growing up.” – Jonathan Tropper (This is Where I Leave You)

“I’ve always been interested in people, but I’ve never liked them.” – Henry James

“A philosopher once asked, ‘Are we human because we gaze at the stars? Or do we gaze at the stars because we are human?’ Pointless, really. ‘Do the stars gaze back?’ Now that’s a question.” – Stardust

“A little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest men.” – Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory

 

Author: Lori

Lori is a writer living and working in New Jersey. Her greatest literary influences are Dr. Seuss, JK Rowling, and Harriet the Spy.

Be Honest!

