Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

15 Stages of Binge Watching

Leave a comment

As I’ve said before, it’s no secret that we like binge watching things around here. And judging by the search terms that bring people here to Honesty Time, you’re all curious about Netflix and binging shows too. Here are the stages of binge watching a show:

 

  1. Curiosity. Hey, I’ve heard a lot about this show. Or hey, I’ve never seen all of the episodes of this show in order before. The inevitable question arises: Should I?
  2. A few trial episodes. Ok, well, it can’t hurt to watch just one episode and see if I like it.
  3. Uncertainty. I’m not sure if I like this. It’s not as funny as everyone said it would be (How I felt about the first season of The Office). It’s too hokey (Dawson’s Creek). What’s the point (Buffy and Gilmore Girls)? I’ve already seen all of these episodes anyway, so why should I binge (Friends)? The production value sucks and I hate the actor and why are people obsessed with this (What everyone says to me when I get them to binge Doctor Who)?
  4. Unwillingness to give up. The feeling that you have to watch a few more episodes just to fit in, give it a fair try, or what have you.
  5. Acceptance as noise or something to do. At this point, you’ve come too far to just stop, even if it is still the first season. So ok, just leave it on while you type up some work or eat your soup or put your makeup on before you go to work or sit in bed or have any free time or…
  6. Suddenly, you cannot look away or turn it off. Dammit, Netflix. Yes I am still watching! Hurry up, Amazon, and load faster! Next episode, yup! Oh my god, is Joey going to Kiss Dawson now? Oh my god, did Angel survive? Rory stole what?! Will Chandler propose (even though I’ve seen a million times that it ends up being Monica)? Will we get over the loss of L’il Sebastian? Is The Master actually Lord Voldemort?

    Voldemort's Long Lost Brother?

    Voldemort’s Long Lost Brother?

  7. Refusal to sleep. 9:30pm, ok, I’ll settle into bed and watch 2 or 3 episodes before going to sleep. Suddenly it’s 1:30am and I’m close to finishing the season, so maybe I should just keep watching…
  8. The binge hangover. Once you’ve finally gone to sleep, you kind of have very weird half dreams about the show you’re watching, and half know that sleep is just so that you can wake up in a haze, get through work, and binge again.willowgif
  9. The point when the pause button is not an option. I could pause it and go pee, or I could wait until this episode is over. Ooops, I just started a new episode. I’ll wait until the next one.
  10. The point when you stop writing this list because what on Earth is happening on Buffy right now.
  11. Knowing that it’s almost over. How does this wrap up? What will happen to Ross and Rachel? Will we ever see Michael Scott again? How long do I have to watch the next season in “Real Time” and see what the next Doctor is like? Will Luke and Lorelai shut up and love each other again?endofera
  12. Postponing the end. I only have one episode left so I’m just going to stop watching for a whopping 12 hours and maybe magically it won’t be over.
  13. All the feels during the last episode. Just… feels.dcjoeycry
  14. Denial. Are there any specials? Movies? Will it come back? Has there been talk of a reunion any time recently?
  15. The next biggest decision you will ever make: What should I binge next?

 

Images from http://btvs-reaction-gifs.tumblr.com/ http://buffy.wikia.com/wiki/The_Master http://fyeahfriendsgifs.tumblr.com/ http://fyeahdawsonscreek.tumblr.com/

Author: Allyssa Ellen

A costumer, a makeup artist, an educator, and a librarian, all rolled up into one convenient, fun-sized package.

Be Honest!

