Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Free Time Equals New Projects

4 Comments

For the first time in my life, I have a new job that requires almost ZERO “outside of work” time.

I go to work, run around and play games all day, and then I can come home from work and DO NOTHING. Or I can come home from work and go be social! Or I can come home from work and go right to bed without fear of not doing some task or project my job required. No grading papers, no writing lesson plans, no sewing until the wee hours of the night, no hot gluing my fingers together, no stress about deadlines.

I’ve decided that once I’m done with my current three theatre shows in mid-March, I’m going to go on a theatre/costume hiatus until I feel that costuming is less of a stressful job, and more of a fun and creative hobby again.

In the meantime, I realize that I will suddenly find myself with a ton of free time that I previously did not have. I used to constantly be crafting, running to meetings, rehearsals, coming home to sew, etc. Currently, I wake up in the morning, go to my job, leave my job and head straight to the theatre, rehearse/run the show/have performances, get home, go to sleep, do it all over again.

So what can I do to spend my time when my schedule simply becomes “Go to work, come home, ?????, Sleep, repeat”??

So, the next thing that I have decided is that I come going to try or take up or work on a new hobby every month. I’ve already written that it’s easy to take a new hobby, as long it’s something you want to do. I want to try new hobbies so that I don’t come home from work and just sit like a lump in front of the Netflix. I want to keep my mind stimulated, my fingers busy, and also enjoy the calm of a hobby. I still have to finish my TARDIS blanket, but I want to add other hobbies to the list, since knitting is already ranked high up on my skill list.

Here are some of the ideas I’ve come up with so far:

 

  1. Cross stitching and embroidery. I was inspired by these 2 Buzz feed lists http://www.buzzfeed.com/alannaokun/embroideries-that-totally-get-you#.xsK4d7RqE http://www.buzzfeed.com/alannaokun/whole-ass-one-thing#.vglxzwlr0 . I think it would be very neat to make a bunch of hoops with quotes and sayings on them, paint the hoops, and hang them up on my wall when I move. It’s an unexpected decoration for an apartment, and it’s a little whimsicle, which I’m totes into. But first, I need to learn how. Challenge accepted.
  2. Practice some fierce face painting and makeup. The show that was running this weekend and plays its last show on Wednesday is Cats. If you are unfamiliar, the show requires almost a literal ton of face painting to transform the teens into cats. I painted 4 of the faces, but also came up with almost all of the designs. I’ve gotten so many compliments on both the designs and the makeups that I’ve done, that I think I would like to practice and have fun some more. Think of all of those cool people on YouTube who just sit around and practice painting crazy designs and characters purely for their enjoyment. I’d like to do that! I’m not much of an artist, so outside of basic makeup, I’m a total newbie at extreme designs. Let’s see if I can change that!
  3. Spend more time coloring. I did end up buying adult coloring books and I use both pens and colored pencils to fill in the illustrations. I think I’ve only completed 2 designs though, because I simply don’t have any “zen time” right now.
  4. Beading. I used to make earrings and necklaces way back in the high school days, but I stopped once I went to college. I still have a wide variety of beads under my bed, and I’d like to use up the supplies that I have. Perhaps I’ll enjoy myself so much that I may buy even more beading supplies. I’d like to practice my wire wrapping skills, but also some of the intricate beading designs that require threading and sewing, which I have never tried before.
  5. Read more. Everyone knows that I love to read, but I have to sadly admit that I haven’t picked up a book probably since June. I haven’t had the time. By time I get to bed, I’m too tired to read. Maybe it could be something as simple as “Come home from work, read for an hour, then do other hobbies” or something, since I know that reading in bed is a one-way express train to snooze town. However I accomplish it, I really want to put reading back into my life.
  6. Puzzles? Just kidding.
The amount of stress and swearing happening while we helped Lori with her puzzle was pretty outrageous. No more puzzles.

The amount of stress and swearing happening while we helped Lori with her puzzle was pretty outrageous. No more puzzles.

Who else has some hobby, craft or pastime activity ideas for me? I’m open to trying lots of new stuff, as long as the supplies aren’t too costly.

Author: Allyssa Ellen

A costumer, a makeup artist, an educator, and a librarian, all rolled up into one convenient, fun-sized package.

4 thoughts on “Free Time Equals New Projects

  1. How about Origami? Even the basic things you can make are pretty fun, and you can use ordinary paper just as well as fancy origami paper (though the special paper is easier to work with and gorgeous).

    • Oh that’s a good idea! I love to use crafts to decorate, and I can see myself making lots of flowers to hang on the walls and from the ceilings, and making other shapes for gift tags! Thanks!

Be Honest!

