Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Oatmeal Muffins

2 Comments

Last week, I had the pleasure of having a half day off from work due to the snow.  Usually, when these rare opportunities present themselves, I spend the majority of the day cooking or baking things that make me feel happy when it is so miserable outside.  Last year during the snowstorm, I made delicious low-cal tortellini soup and turkey chili.  This year I decided I really wanted to try to make oatmeal “cupcakes” or small oatmeal muffins.  I used a modified version of this recipe, that was naturally discovered after browsing Pinterest. These were delicious!  Plus, I did my own break down of ingredients to get a calorie count and they are only 180 cals each!  Can they BE any more amazing?!  Here is what I did with the recipe modifications.

Oatmeal Muffins 

Photo Jan 28, 9 05 44 AM

1 egg

1 egg white

1/4 cup (Slightly less than) canola oil

1 cup brown sugar

1 & 3/8 cups of 2% Milk

1/2 cup (1 single serving cup) apple cinnamon apple sauce

2 tspn vanilla

1 & 1/4 tspn cinnamon

3 cups of quick oats

2 tspn of baking powder

Then I followed the instructions from the link and they came out fabulous!

Note: For toppings, I used pomegranate craisins and walnuts, chocolate chips, peanut butter chips, then a combo of chocolate and peanut butter chips.

Photo Jan 28, 9 07 28 AM

 

Author: AmandaMarie

I am a 2011 graduate of Drew University with a Bachelor's Degree in Art History with a minor in Art. I have taken wide-range of art courses, which include 2D design, 3D design, Drawing, Ceramic Sculpture, Photography (both black and white and digital), Computer Graphics, and printmaking (intaglio). I have had prior black and white photography experience from three years of classes in high school as well. I hope that this blog will be a way for me to showcase my work to various people and future clients.

2 thoughts on “Oatmeal Muffins

  1. The look even more delicious because the tops look like cookies 🙂

Be Honest!

