Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

The Gym

Leave a comment

Let’s talk about the gym. I have a love-hate relationship with the gym. I love the idea that you go there to work out to better yourself. I enjoy the feeling of having a good workout, even though it may lead to exhaustion. I don’t like everything else about it.

Today, I went to the gym. There’s about 10 ellipticals in a row. There were two open. Little did I know, the one I ended up choosing was the one next to the man who was about 30 minutes into his workout. By the time I got started, it was too late to move to another machine. My goodness, the man stunk. Sweat, pouring down his face. Lifting his shirt to wipe it…bring a towel for god’s sake. I spent the next 30 minutes next to this smelly fool. Not to mention, when you’re going as hard as he was on this machine, he starts hacking up a lung every few minutes, therefore turning and coughing in my direction. It’s bad enough that I’ll likely get sick from just touching a machine. It’s uncomfortable. These machines are too damn close to each other. I don’t want to be practically touching you as our hands fly back and forth. So more ventilation please. And don’t cough in my direction. And don’t touch me. Don’t even look at me.

Also, machine hogs, if you’re gonna sit there and people watch, move it to the front of the building. Don’t sit there on your weight machines as if you’re working out because you’re not even sweating and did three reps. And it’s not social hour at the gym…again, conversations, take ’em to the front. And the texters, oh the texters are the main offenders of this too. Save it for later kids.

Look, I’m not saying I hate the gym completely, but lawd it needs to be warmer out soon so I can take the fitness outside.

Be Honest!

