Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

An Almost Disaster Date

Leave a comment

Last night, my boyfriend and I had planned to go on a date at a fancy New York Restaurant.  He had to attend a wedding on Valentine’s day and then had to work Sunday night, which explains the Monday night date.  Why New York?  Well, from February 16th-March 6th it happens to be NYC Restaurant Week.  (I will include the link here in case anybody wants to give it a try!)  There are so many restaurants participating that it is actually slightly overwhelming.  However, the participating restaurants offer a 3 course lunch option for $25.00 or a 3 course dinner option for $38.00.  Can’t really beat that kind of deal for a dinner date in the city.  So, I put together a list of restaurants that I thought both my boyfriend and I would enjoy and then we picked one out of that list together.  It happened to be an Italian restaurant named Fino all the way in the financial district of Manhattan.  We made our reservations for Monday, Feb 16th at 7:15.  Here comes the craziness.

The night before I got a confirmation about my reservation for our party of two.  I was pretty excited.  I wanted to go to a fancy restaurant just as an excuse to have us both dress up for a few hours and this was the perfect opportunity.  Monday, I had everything ready before work, and we left pretty much immediately after I got home and drove to Journal Square to catch the train.  Heading into the city was easy, but because it was President’s Day the PATH was operating during weekend hours.  This was only slightly inconvenient, seeing as it was closer to WTC, but we decided to take a cab anyway.  We thought it best to not wander around in the cold.  So we take a $12 cab ride to the restaurant, pull on the doors to enter and they’re locked.  We go to the next set of doors, guess what… Yes, those were locked too.  So now what?  We call the restaurant… No answer.  I had printed out my reservations just in case and all of my info was correct, so what the actual hell?

We decided it was better not to wander around an area we weren’t completely familiar with, so we took a cab back up to the Christopher Street PATH station.  The restaurant we frequent is right around that area, so we were pretty happy to go there.  We get all the way there and guess what!?  They were closed too!  So now we both are in complete and utter disbelief at this point.  We just wanted dinner, and to not be cold.

2gaetanas

Luckily, there are quite a few restaurants in that particular area, so we entered the next one we saw.  The restaurant was named Gaetana’s and it was a small Italian place that we pass every time we go eat at our restaurant.  It was a little bit dark and cold and was not very full at all. But, we were both really hungry at this point, and cold.  We noticed that the food was a bit pricey, but again at this point who cared.  I ordered the penne with vodka sauce and grilled chicken, my boyfriend ordered fettucini Alfredo also with grilled chicken.  Let me tell you, it was absolutely delicious and the portions were large.

The food came out incredibly quick, probably because we were the only ones in the sit down area, and we both were happy.  We actually wound up tasting each other’s food and I was equally impressed with his dish.  Both were so yummy.  The waiter was attentive, but not overbearing.  He refilled our glasses without us having to ask and came to check on us while were were dining.  After our dinner, we decided to order a Ghiradelli chocolate cake to share for dessert.  Holy crap.  This cake was like air.  It was amazing!  It had a warm gooey center with chocolate chips, and powdered sugar, whipped cream, and chocolate sauce on top!  I need more of it.  We wound up getting it on the house, which was incredibly nice of the waiter and really only made me like the place even more.  I definitely want to return there in the warmer weather.

 

After being super full, we went back to the train station and couldn’t wait to get home.  Naturally, we had a 10 minute wait for our train.  As we are waiting, an announcement states that the train to Journal Square (where we parked) would not be running due to a “water condition”.  Great.  Okay Murphy’s Law we get it.  We decided we would call a life line as soon as we had service.

Needless to say, the train was jam packed.  We got off a few stops before our usual Journal Square and called a couple of people.  My boyfriend’s dad wound up being the lifesaver of the night and drove us to Journal Square so we could get his car and drive back home!

Clearly we had an adventure to say the least.  But, we laughed through most of it and I think we made the best of a pretty disastrous situation.  It also made us realize that we should definitely check out the other restaurants in that particular area.  We are 2 for 2 so far.  Why stop at that? What do you guys think?  Ever have a similar situation?

Author: AmandaMarie

I am a 2011 graduate of Drew University with a Bachelor's Degree in Art History with a minor in Art. I have taken wide-range of art courses, which include 2D design, 3D design, Drawing, Ceramic Sculpture, Photography (both black and white and digital), Computer Graphics, and printmaking (intaglio). I have had prior black and white photography experience from three years of classes in high school as well. I hope that this blog will be a way for me to showcase my work to various people and future clients.

Be Honest!

