Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

All My Favorite Musicians are Named Ben.

1 Comment

imageThe title of this post is definitely a hyperbolic statement. But I was scrolling through my iTunes recently when I realized that a remarkable number of musicians I listen to fairly regularly are named Ben. Who are these gents? Here are a list of the musical Bens I like and some of my favorite tunes of theirs (I tried to limit myself to only listing a max of 5 songs per musician):

Ben Folds

  • Annie Waits
  • The Luckiest
  • Rockin’ the Suburbs
  • Still Fighting It
  • Zak and Sara

Ben Folds Five

  • Army
  • Best Imitation of Myself
  • Do It Anyway
  • Philosophy
  • Smoke

Ben Harper

  • Another Lonely Day
  • Faded
  • Steal My Kisses
  • Walk Away

Ben Jelen

  • Counting Down
  • Not My Plan
  • The Other Side
  • Where Do We Go

Ben Kweller

  • Cally
  • Different But The Same
  • I Need You Back
  • Sundress

Ben Lee

  • Apple Candy
  • Catch My Disease
  • Close I’ve Come
  • Into the Dark
  • Whatever It Is

Ben Rector

  • Beautiful
  • When a Heart Breaks
  • When I’m With You

The Bens (Ben Folds, Ben Kweller, Ben Lee)

  • Bruised
  • Just Pretend
  • Stop!
  • X-Fire

So these are the Bens I enjoy listening to. Sorry I didn’t include links to the songs, but I have faith that you’ll be able to find them. You are smart people.

I just made a “Bens” playlist on iTunes. It has 204 songs on it. And I’m sure there are a ton of songs and other musicians I’m missing. Can you think of any others? Who is your favorite musical Ben?

I think that the moral of this story is that, if you want to up the chances of your child being a talented and successful musician, name him (or her…why not?) Ben.

Author: Lori

Lori is a writer living and working in New Jersey. Her greatest literary influences are Dr. Seuss, JK Rowling, and Harriet the Spy.

One thought on “All My Favorite Musicians are Named Ben.

  1. ha. i too am a ben fan. thanks for this post!

Be Honest!

