Honesty Time

Keeping it real since 2013

Working from…Work on a Snow Day: A Tutorial

2 Comments

A lot has changed in my life since this time last year. I moved to a new apartment, which means I am no longer dealing with the commute from hell. I live really close to my office now. Which also means that when it snows, unless there’s a legit state of emergency, I don’t really have an excuse to not go into the office. If the office is open, I’m probably going to be there, even though almost no one else is. Last year, I wrote a tutorial about how to work from home on a snow day. Which was especially fun because I was living at home with my parents and they have cats. This year, I’m going to write you a tutorial about to work in the office on a snow day. There are no cats.

On days when the normally bustling downtown look like this:

You can probably expect to be one of the only people in the office.

Don’t be alarmed if it seems like you are the only person left in the world:

IMG_0417

Once you get to the office and realize that you will probably be the only one around, it’s okay to get weirdly excited about how quiet it will be. Making it much easier to get a jumpstart on all the work that’s due in the next couple weeks:

Don’t be afraid to look up information on drug laws in Florida:

It’s for something I was writing for work, I swear!

Also, make this face:

It’s fine to start talking to your rubber ducks like they are your coworkers:

I call them Bryan, Connie, Kevin, James, Felice, Anthony, Lou, Jason, and Rocco.

I call them Bryan, Connie, Kevin, James, Felice, Anthony, Lou, Jason, and Rocco.

And yes, half of the lights in the office are off. Don’t turn them on. You live in the shadows.

Get irrationally annoyed with your “motivational” calendar:

IMG_0430

Braid your hair for funsies, then make this face:

Get really excited because your boss decided to buy pizza for everyone, and then eat lunch twice.

Elvensies and luncheon, duh.

Oh, wait. Here’s a very special email:

Uh…tutorial over. Gotta go. Byeeeee.

Author: Lori

Lori is a writer living and working in New Jersey. Her greatest literary influences are Dr. Seuss, JK Rowling, and Harriet the Spy.

2 thoughts on “Working from…Work on a Snow Day: A Tutorial

  1. Almost stopped reading when it said “There are no cats.” Truth. I think offices should have pets.

Be Honest!

